For immediate release | March 22, 2016

Maureen Sullivan receives the 2016 Joseph W. Lippincott Award

CHICAGO — Maureen Sullivan is the winner of the 2016 Joseph W. Lippincott Award. This annual award is sponsored by Joseph W. Lippincott III and presented by the American Library Association for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship.

“The jury for the 2016 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is pleased to honor Maureen Sullivan for her many accomplishments during a long, varied, and continuing career in American librarianship,” said jury Chair Winston Tabb, Sheridan Dean of Libraries and Museums at Johns Hopkins University.

Among the achievements specially noted by the jury and the many colleagues who wrote in support of this award are Sullivan’s distinguished service to ALA through her service as its president and as president of two divisions, the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) and the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA). Particularly noted was Sullivan’s focus during her ALA presidency on the training program for community engagement, developed in partnership with the Harwood Institute for Public Innovation, under the theme, “The Promise of Libraries Transforming Communities.”

The jury also recognized Sullivan for the breadth and depth of her influence as a library educator and exemplar of the highest professional standards in her roles as interim dean and professor of practice at the Simmons School of Library & Information Science; as founder of the Library Leaders in a Digital Age program at the Harvard Graduate School of Education; as a prime mover and faculty member of the annual Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians (LIAL) developed through ACRL’s partnership with the Harvard Graduate School of Education; and as facilitator of the TALL Texans Leadership Development Institute.

“Maureen is widely recognized throughout our community for her extraordinary skills as an organizational consultant,” Tabb said. “Our profession is fortunate to have such a charismatic, creative and effective leader as Maureen, who has had - and continues to have - a profound impact on scores of young librarians, and thus on ALA and on America’s libraries, through her leadership of ALA’s Emerging Leaders program.”

The 2016 Joseph W. Lippincott Award will be presented at the ALA Awards Ceremony on June 26, during the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida.

In addition to Chair Tabb, the members of the 2016 Joseph W. Lippincott Award jury are: Nikhat Grouse, American University; Robin Kear, University of Pittsburgh; Susan Anderson, Illinois Wesleyan University; and Shali Zhang, University of Montana.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2017 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is Dec. 1.

Guidelines and applications forms are available on the ALA website.


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer