Forty ALA Student Chapter Members Chosen to Participate in the 2016 Student to Staff Program

For Immediate Release
Wed, 12/23/2015


Don Wood

Program Officer

Chapter Relations Office

American Library Association


CHICAGO — Forty student members of the American Library Association (ALA) will participate in the ALA Student-to-Staff program at the 2016 ALA Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida, June 23-28.

Established in 1973, the program allows 40 students, both ALA members and members of their school's ALA student chapter, to attend and participate in an annual conference in exchange for working 16 hours for ALA staff during the conference. These students also receive free conference registration, housing, and a per diem for meals.

Students are selected and nominated by their faculty advisors. Criteria include that each student must be a current ALA member and remain so through the ALA Annual Conference, and cannot have previously participated in the program.

The students participating in the 2016 program are (in alphabetical order by last name of student):

  • Jeanna Allums Valdosta; State University (Georgia)
  • Christina Appleberry; The iSchool@UBC (B.C.)
  • Samuel Ayers; Louisiana State University (Louisiana)
  • Rebeccah Baker; University of Maryland iSchool (Maryland)
  • Elizabeth Blackwood; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (North Carolina)
  • Mitchell Earl Bresett; University at Buffalo, State University of New York (New York)
  • Brittany Cauthen; University of Oklahoma (Oklahoma)
  • Derek Cornelison; University of Alabama (Alabama)
  • Hugh H. Davis; East Carolina University (North Carolina)
  • Holly Dolan; University of North Texas (Texas)
  • Amy Elizabeth Eiben; University of Michigan at Ann Arbor (Michigan)
  • Ashley Farley; University of Washington (Washington)
  • Jennifer Fuchikami; University of Hawaii, Manoa (Hawaii)
  • Caroline Gardner; Simmons College (Massachusetts)
  • Deborah Hathaway; Texas Woman's University (Texas)
  • Chelsea Heinbach; University of Denver (Colorado)
  • Alexa Hirsch; Syracuse University (New York)
  • April James; Drexel University (Pennsylvania)
  • Sarah Lane; University of Texas, Austin (Texas)
  • Katherine Martinez; Pratt Institute (New York)
  • Darcy Mautino; University of Pittsburgh (Pennsylvania)
  • Tasha McLachlan; St. Catherine University (Minnesota)
  • Emily Meehan; University of California, Los Angeles (California)
  • Lori M. Miller; University of Kentucky (Kentucky)
  • Cherrie Moore; Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (New Jersey)
  • Amy Mosher; Florida State University (Florida)
  • Elizabeth Marie Munoz; University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee (Wisconsin)
  • Steven Michael Oden; University of Southern Mississippi (Mississippi)
  • Kara Pauley; Dominican University (Illinois)
  • Rachel Paulus; Clarion University (Pennsylvania)
  • Jenny Tolbert; University of South Florida (Florida)
  • Tiana Trutna; San Jose State University (California)
  • Gabrielle Tuttle; University of Missouri (Missouri)
  • Alicia Vaandering; University of Rhode Island (Rhode Island)
  • Emily Wagner; Catholic University of America (D.C.)
  • Kendra Werst; Indiana University (Indiana)
  • Emily Wierzbowski; University at Albany, State University of New York (New York)
  • Ashley Will; Emporia State University (Kansas)
  • Kristina E. Williams; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Illinois)
  • Nicole Wood; University of Tennessee (Tennessee)

Each year between October and December information on how to nominate a student is sent to the faculty advisor of each ALA student chapter. The deadline for nominating a student is between then and whenever 40 qualifying students are accepted into the program. Because only 40 students are accepted into the program, but there are 60 active student chapters, qualifying students are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis.

For information about the ALA Student-to-Staff program, contact the ALA Chapter Relations Office.