ALA councilors elected

For Immediate Release
Fri, 05/08/2015


JoAnne Kempf


Office of ALA Governance


CHICAGO — 33 members have been elected as Councilors-at-Large on the Council of the American Library Association (ALA) for three-year terms. The terms begin at the conclusion of the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco and extend through the end of the 2018 Annual Conference held in New Orleans.

The 2015 - 2018 Councilors-at-Large are:

  • Doug Archer
  • Tamika Barnes
  • Sandra Barstow
  • Lauren Andrea Comito
  • Sara E. Dallas
  • Trevor A. Dawes
  • Roberto C. Delgadillo
  • Vicki Morris Emery
  • Selina Gomez-Beloz
  • Millie Gonzalez
  • Michael Gutierrez
  • Eboni M. Henry
  • Kathy Hicks-Brooks
  • Megan Hodge
  • Linda A. Kopecky
  • Cheryl Lee
  • Leo Lo
  • Pauline D. Manaka
  • Virginia B. (Ginny) Moore
  • Johana Orellana
  • Kimberly A. Patton
  • Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada
  • Alexandra Rivera
  • Romelia Salinas
  • Michael Santangelo
  • Angelique D. Simmons
  • Eric D. Suess
  • Pat (Tea) Toney
  • Ngoc-Yen Tran
  • Francisco Vargas
  • Sandy Wee
  • Joan S. Weeks
  • Janice Welburn

Amanda J. Wilson was also elected as Councilor-at-Large for a one-year term to begin immediately and expire at the end of the 2016 ALA Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida.

ALA Division and Round Table Councilors elected for 2015-2018 include:

  • American Association of School Librarians Division (AASL)—Diane R. Chen
  • Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC)—Jenna Nemec-Loise
  • Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA)—Christopher J. Corrigan
  • Reference & User Services Association (RUSA)—Sarah J. Hammill
  • Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)—Todd Krueger
  • Intellectual Freedom Round (IFRT)—Martin Garnar
  • International Relations Round Table (IRRT)—Sandy Hirsh
  • Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT)—Laura Koltutsky

Members voted to approve and ALA Bylaw amendment to establish Robert’s Rules of Order as the parliamentary authority over the previously-used Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure (known as “Stugis”).

A total of 10,367 votes was cast in the election.  Council, Division and Round Table elections also were decided.  Complete election results will be available at