Longlist for 2015 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction announced

For Immediate Release
Mon, 02/09/2015


Katharine Uhrich

Marketing Director


American Library Association


CHICAGO — Forty-three books comprising the longlist for consideration for the 2015 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction have been selected from the most recent Booklist Editors’ Choice and RUSA Notable Books List. The six-title shortlist—three each for the fiction and nonfiction medals—will be announced in late April, and the two winners will be announced at an event at the ALA 2015 Annual Conference on Saturday, June 27 in San Francisco. The longlist is available on the awards’ website.

The Andrew Carnegie Medals, the first single-book awards for adult titles given by the American Library Association, reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. The annually appointed selection committee includes three Booklist editors or contributors, three past and/or present members of RUSA CODES Notable Books Council, and a representative of the American Booksellers Association. The awards were established by Carnegie Corporation of New York and ALA in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S. the previous year. The Medals and the lists leading up to the selection of the winners serve as a guide to selecting quality reading material.

The popular and celebratory announcement events have been enthusiastically received by hundreds of conference attendees as well as by shortlisted authors and their publishers. Winners in 2014 were Donna Tartt for her novel “The Goldfinch,” published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, and Doris Kearns Goodwin for “The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism,” published by Simon & Schuster. Both authors were present to receive their awards. This year for the first time, publishers and attendees may purchase tables for the announcements and dessert reception. Individual tickets are available as always at the ALA Annual Conference website when you register for the conference or may be added later.”

The awards have been funded through a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York in recognition of Andrew Carnegie’s deep belief in the power of books and learning to change the world. The awards are cosponsored and administered by Booklist and RUSA. Booklist also sponsors the Michael L. Printz Award, Odyssey Award and Alex Awards. RUSA’s Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) administers the Notable Books List, The Reading List, The Listen List and the Sophie Brody Award.

Find out more about the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.