For immediate release | February 27, 2015

Keba, Schofield and Segno win 2015 ACRL IS Innovation Award

CHICAGO — Michelle Keba, Michael Schofield and Jamie Segno, all of Nova Southeastern University, have been selected to receive the 2015 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section (IS) Innovation award for their work on the software, Library Learn, which hosts instructional videos for using library resources. Keba is reference and instructional librarian II, Schofield is Web services librarian and Segno is reference/outreach librarian II.

The annual award recognizes a project that demonstrates creative, innovative or unique approaches to information literacy instruction or programming. The award will be presented to the group during the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco.

“Library Learn addresses so many key issues that we all struggle with, and the committee was excited by the possibilities presented by the platform,” said award committee Chair Susanna Eng-Ziskin of California State University-Northridge. “Online video tutorials are nothing new to libraries. Librarians have been creating them for years, but the ability to efficiently organize, maintain, and update instructional videos has not been sufficiently addressed. Library Learn is an exciting organizational platform that allows libraries to create permalinks that won’t change when a video is updated, is mobile first and will tailor its design to any device, is ADA accessible, and is available to students at point of need by automatically detecting what type of video to display, based on the users’ search queries on the library’s website.”

Library Learn is a mobile-first platform designed at Nova Southeastern University’s Alvin Sherman Library, Research, and Information Technology Center for managing and displaying instructional videos. These modular videos can be viewed asynchronously on demand whenever a patron needs guidance.

Keba holds a master’s degree in Information Studies from the University of Texas at Austin. Segno holds a master’s degree in Library and Information Science from the University of South Florida and a master's degree in Leadership from Nova Southeastern University. Schofield holds a master’s degree in Library and Information Science from Florida State University

For more information regarding the ACRL IS Innovation Award, or a complete list of past recipients, please visit the awards section of the ACRL website.


The Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) is the higher education association for librarians. Representing more than 11,000 academic and research librarians and interested individuals, ACRL (a division of the American Library Association) is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to help academic and research librarians learn, innovate and lead within the academic community. Founded in 1940, ACRL is committed to advancing learning and transforming scholarship. ACRL is on the Web at, Facebook at and Twitter at @ala_acrl.


Chase Ollis

Program Coordinator