Garcia-Febo, Jefferson and Marlin elected to ALA Executive Board

For Immediate Release
Mon, 02/23/2015


JoAnne Kempf

Director, Office of ALA Governance

Office of ALA Governance

CHICAGO — Loida Garcia-Febo, Julius C. Jefferson, Jr. and Mike L. Marlin have been elected to serve on the American Library Association (ALA) Executive Board. The new board members were elected by the ALA Council in a vote taken at the 2015 ALA Midwinter Meeting, held Jan. 30 to Feb. 3 in Chicago. Garcia-Febo, Jefferson and Marlin will each serve three-year terms beginning in July 2015 and concluding in June 2018.

Garcia-Febo is president of Information New Wave in Brooklyn, New York. She has served on ALA Council since 2011.  She has served on numerous ALA committees including chair of the International Relations committee and Committee on Membership Meetings. She is an active member of the Public Library Association (PLA), Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT), International Relations Round Table (IRRT),  New Members Round Table (NMRT) and Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT).  She has also served as president of the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking (REFORMA) and in 2013 was elected to the Governing Board of the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA). Garcia-Febo holds a BA in Business Education and an M.L.S. from the University of Puerto Rico.

Jefferson, information research specialist, Congressional Research Services at the Library of Congress, has also served on ALA Council since 2011.  He has served on numerous committees and task forces including chair of the Intellectual Freedom Committee.  He has served on the board of the Black Caucus of the ALA (BCALA) and is the current vice president of the DC Library Association (DCLA) as well as the president of the Freedom to Read Foundation. Jefferson holds a BA in History from Howard University and an M.L.S. from the University of Maryland.

Marlin, director of the Braille and Talking Book Library at the California State Library in Sacramento, has served on ALA Council since 2011.  He has served on several committees and working groups and is a member of the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA), the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), the Ethnic and Multicultural Exchange Round Table (EMIERT), Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT), Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT), International Relations Round Table (IRRT), New Members Round Table (NMRT) and the Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT).  He previously served on the ALA Executive Board from January 2014 through June 2014, when he was elected to complete the unexpired term of Sylvia Norton after her appointment as executive director of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL).Marlin holds a BA in Semiotics and Communications from Brown University, Providence, R.I. and an MLIS from the University of Washington, Seattle.

AASL, ACRL, ASCLA, LITA, LLAMA, PLA and RUSA are divisions of the ALA.  

The ALA Executive Board manages the affairs of the Association. It is composed of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, treasurer, executive director and eight members elected by Council from among the members of that body. For more information on the Executive Board, please visit