Apply now for $5,000 ALA award for library programming excellence

For Immediate Release
Tue, 10/28/2014


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

Office of ALA Governance


CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is now accepting nominations for its 2015 ALA Excellence in Library Programming Award.

The $5,000 award, supported by ALA’s Cultural Communities Fund, recognizes a library that demonstrates excellence by providing cultural/thematic programs that have community impact and respond to community needs. (Read an article by the winner of the 2014 award.)

The award will be presented during the ALA Awards Presentation at the 2015 ALA Annual Conference, June 25 to June 30 in San Francisco.

All types of libraries — school, public, academic and special — are eligible for the award, but the nominated program must have been for a public audience.

Programs — either individual programs or a series — must have taken place between Sept. 1, 2013, and Aug. 31, 2014. Winning programs are those that encouraged community participation, planning or sponsorship; addressed a community need; and made a measurable impact.

Nominations will be accepted until Dec. 1 at Self-nomination is encouraged. 

Learn more about the award at

ALA’s Cultural Communities Fund was created in 2003, when a challenge grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities kick-started a campaign to secure the future of libraries as cultural destinations within the community. Since then, CCF has grown to more than $1.7 million, serving libraries as they serve their communities through the highest quality arts and humanities programs. To contribute to CCF, visit