Longlist for 2014 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction announced

For Immediate Release
Tue, 02/04/2014


Mary Mackay

Marketing Director

ALA Publishing

American Library Association


CHICAGO Forty-four books comprising the “longlist” for consideration for the 2014 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction have been selected from the most recent Booklist Editors’ Choice and RUSA Notable Books List.  The six-title shortlist—three each for the fiction and nonfiction medals—will be announced in late April, and the two winners will be announced at an event at ALA Annual Conference on Sunday, June 29 in Las Vegas. The longlist is available on the awards’ website.

The awards were established by Carnegie Corporation of New York and ALA in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S. the previous year. The Medals and the lists leading up to the selection of the winners serve as a guide to selecting quality reading material.

The Andrew Carnegie Medals are the first single-book awards for adult titles given by the American Library Association and reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. The annually appointed selection committee includes a chair (Nancy Pearl, 2012-2014), three Booklist editors or contributors and three former members of RUSA CODES Notable Books Council.

The popular and celebratory announcement events have been enthusiastically received by hundreds of conference attendees as well as shortlisted authors and their publishers. Winners in 2013 were Richard Ford for his novel “Canada,” published by Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, and Timothy Egan for “Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis,” published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Tickets for the 2014 announcements and presentations are available at the ALA Annual Conference website when you register for the conference or may be added later.

The awards are funded through a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York in recognition of Andrew Carnegie’s deep belief in the power of books and learning to change the world. The awards are cosponsored and administered by Booklist and RUSA. Booklist also sponsors the Michael L. Printz Award, Odyssey Award and Alex Awards. RUSA’s Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) administers the Notable Books List, The Reading List, The Listen List and the Sophie Brody Award.

Find out more about the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.