For immediate release | October 21, 2013

Nominations sought for prestigious research award

CHICAGO — Nominations are invited for the 2014 Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology, sponsored by OCLC, Inc. and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2013.

The Kilgour Research Award recognizes research relevant to the development of information technologies, in particular research which shows promise of having a positive and substantive impact on any aspect of the publication, storage, retrieval and dissemination of information or how information and data are manipulated and managed. The Kilgour award consists of $2,000 cash, an award citation and an expense paid trip (airfare and two nights lodging) to the ALA Annual Conference.

Nominations will be accepted from any member of the American Library Association. Nominating letters must address how the research is relevant to libraries; is creative in its design or methodology; builds on existing research or enhances potential for future exploration; and/or solves an important current problem in the delivery of information resources. A curriculum vita and a copy of several seminal publications by the nominee must be included. Preference will be given to completed research over work in progress. More information and a list of previous winners can be found at

Currently-serving officers and elected officials of LITA, members of the Kilgour Award Committee and OCLC employees and their immediate family members are ineligible.

The 2014 Frederick G. Kilgour Award Committee includes Erik Mitchell, chair, Brett Bonfield, past-chair, Rebecca Mugridge, and Kebede Wordofa, members, and, Roy Tennant, OCLC liaison. More information about the Committee is available at .

The following distinguished people have received the award to date:

  • Karen Markey Drabenstott, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich., 1998
  • Dean K. Jue, Florida State University, Tallahassee, Fla., 1999
  • Gary Marchionini, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N.C., 2000
  • Marcia Bates, University of California, Los Angeles, Calif., 2001
  • Carol C. Kuhlthau, Rutgers University, Piscataway, N.J., 2002
  • Herbert Van de Sompel, Los Alamos National Laboratories, Los Alamos, N.M., 2003
  • Carl Lagoze, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y., 2004
  • William E. Moen, University of North Texas , Denton, Texas, 2005
  • Ching-chih Chen, Simmons College, Boston, 2006
  • Richard Pearce-Moses, Arizona State Library, 2007
  • Dr. Jane Greenberg, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, 2008
  • William H. Mischo, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 2009
  • Dr. John Willinsky, Stanford University, 2010
  • Daniel J. Cohen, George Mason University, 2011
  • G Sayeed Choudhury, Johns Hopkins University, 2012
  • Barbara Tillett, Library of Congress, 2013

More information about the Award is available at

Send nominations by Dec. 31, 2013, to the Award jury chair: Erik Mitchell, 255 Doe Library, MC 6000, Berkeley, CA 94720-6000 or .

The Kilgour Research Award will be presented at the LITA President’s Program on June 29 during the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

About OCLC

Founded in 1967, OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing library costs. More than 72,000 libraries in 170 countries have used OCLC services to locate, acquire, catalog, lend, preserve and manage library materials. Researchers, students, faculty, scholars, professional librarians and other information seekers use OCLC services to obtain bibliographic, abstract and full-text information when and where they need it. For more information, visit

About LITA

LITA is the leading organization reaching out across types of libraries to provide education and services for a broad membership including systems librarians, library administrators, library schools, vendors and many others interested in leading edge technology and applications for librarians and information providers. For more information, visit, or contact the LITA office by phone, 800-545-2433, ext. 4268; or e-mail:


Mary Taylor

Executive Director

Library Information Technology Association (LITA)