Thirty AASL members receive grants to attend first national conference

For Immediate Release
Tue, 05/28/2013


Jennifer Habley

Manager, Web Communications



CHICAGO – Thirty members of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) have been awarded a $750 travel grant in order to attend their first AASL national conference. Generously sponsored by Bound To Stay Bound Books, Inc. (BTSB), the grants will allow recipients to secure housing, transportation and/or registration for the AASL 16th National Conference & Exhibition taking place Nov. 14-17, 2013, in Hartford, Conn.

Grant recipients include:

Molly Ann Bates
Russellville Middle School
Russellville, Ala.

Ellen Sue Baum
Middleton High School
Middleton, Wis.

Deven Black
Castle Hill Middle School 127
Bronx, N.Y.

Sandra Bucher
Sequoya Middle School
Holtsville, N.Y.

Rebecca Buerkett
L.P. Quinn Elementary School
Tupper Lake, N.Y.

Melissa Jane Chiti
Glenn Elementary School
Durham, N.C.

Tracy Lynn Cline
Butterfield Trail Middle School
Van Buren, Ark.

Mary Ann Cole
Houston Middle School
Germantown, Tenn.

Cynthia Curtis
Hanes Magnet School
Winston-Salem, N.C.

Sarah DiLorenzo
Wilson Elementary
Norman, Okla.

Bonnie Lynn Eiche
John Thomas School of Discovery
Nixa, Mo.

Teralee ElBasri
Fla. State University
Tallahassee, Fla.

Stacy Ford
John F. Kennedy Elementary
Norman, Okla.

Daniel Gattuso
Daniel of Saint Thomas
Jenifer Elementary School
Waldorf, Md.

Teresa Gilham
Browning High School
Browning, Mont.

Martha Hickson
North Hunterdon High School
Annandale, N.J.

Mary Johnson
South Dakota State Library
Pierre, S.D.

Leticia Kalweit
Richard Mann Elementary School
Walworth, N.Y.

Christina Knight
Zachary High School
Zachary, La.

Soraya Laboy
Robison Middle School
Las Vegas, Nev.

Theresa Mai
Truscott Elementary School
Loveland, Colo.

Adrienne Matteson
White River Elementary
Noblesville, Ind.

Michelle Miller
Gorham Intermediate
Gorham, N.Y.

Susan Marie Nickel
Capital High School
Boise, Idaho

Nikki Robertson
Auburn High School
Auburn, Ala.

Carrie Shoolbred
Jesse Boyd Elementary School
Spartanburg, S.C.

Darshell Silva
Rocky Hill School
East Greenwich, R.I.

Amy Jo Southworth
Bay Shore High
Sayville, N.Y.

Roz Thompson
Tumwater High School
Tumwater, Wash.

Gretchen Zaitzeff
University High School
Normal, Ill.

Bob Sibert of BTSB said, "At Bound To Stay Bound Books we recognize the value of the professional librarian in our schools and take pride in being able to offer these grants to help further their knowledge and give them an opportunity to share their experiences with other professionals."

"AASL is grateful to Bound To Stay Bound Books for their insight in sponsoring this wonderful opportunity for first-time attendees to experience and participate in AASL’s national conference," said Susan Ballard, AASL president. "Through their generous support BTSB is making a difference in fostering high quality professional development for school librarians who in turn, will 'pay it forward" by returning to their learning communities and sharing what they have learned with administrators, teachers and most especially with students."

The AASL national conference is the only national conference dedicated solely to the needs of school librarians and their roles as educational leaders. The 16th National Conference & Exhibition, "Rising to the Challenge," taking place Nov. 14–17, 2013, in Hartford, Conn., will feature preconference workshops, concurrent sessions and an exhibition featuring companies relevant to the school library profession.

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), promotes the improvement and extension of library services in elementary and secondary schools as a means of strengthening the total education program. Its mission is to advocate excellence, facilitate change and develop leaders in the school library field.