For immediate release | May 9, 2013

Nominating committee seeks candidates

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) 2014 Nominating Committee is soliciting nominees to run on the 2014 spring ballot for the offices of ALA President-elect and Councilor-at-large.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for President-elect and no fewer than 51 candidates for the 34 at-large Council seats to be filled in the 2014 spring election.

The President-elect will serve a three-year term: as President-elect in 2014-2015, as President in 2015-2016 and as Immediate Past President in 2016-2017.

The Councilors-at-large will serve three-year terms, beginning after the 2014 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2017 Annual Conference.

The ALA President and Councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA]. Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions regarding lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

Members who wish to make nominations should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; fax and email address. Self-nominations are encouraged. The Committee will also consider as nominees any current Councilors who wish to continue their service to the Association. All potential nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form available at

Nominations and forms must be received no later than August 16, 2013.

Nominations may be sent to any member of the 2014 Nominating Committee. Committee members are:

  • Stephen Matthews, Librarian, Foxcroft School Currier Library, Middleburg, Va., (540) 687-4422, E-mail
  • Nick Buron, Director, Community Library Services , Queens Library , Jamaica , N.Y., (718) 990-8545, E-mail
  • John DeSantis, Cataloging & Metadata Services Librarian, Dartmouth College, Hanover , N.H., (603) 646-0413, E-mail
  • Nancy Everhart, Associate Professor, Florida State University, Tallahassee, Fla., (850) 644-8122, E-mail
  • Adriene Lim, Dean, University Libraries, Oakland University, Rochester, Mich., (248) 370-2486, E-mail
  • Andrew Pace, Executive Director, Networked Library Services, OCLC, Dublin, Ohio, (614) 764-6435, E-mail
  • Eva Poole, Chief of Staff, District of Columbia Public Library, Washington, D.C., (202) 727-4919, E-mail
  • Karen Schneider, University Librarian, Cushing Library, Holy Names University, Oakland, Calif., (510) 436-1160, E-mail
  • Kendall Wiggin, State Librarian, Connecticut State Library, Hartford, Conn., (860) 757-6510, E-mail

Individuals who do not wish to go through the nominations process may run for office by petition. Petitions are available from Lois Ann Gregory-Wood, Council Secretariat, ALA, 50 E. Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Email: , or during the 2013 Annual Conference or 2014 Midwinter Meeting. Petitions require 25 signatures for names to be included on the 2014 ballot. Online petitions may also be created by going to This will take you to the ALA log-in page. Once logged in you can create your petition. Deadline for filing petitions is Jan. 31, 2014.


JoAnne Kempf

Director, Office of ALA Governance

Office of ALA Governance