For immediate release | February 19, 2013

Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) program and nine state partners offer Enrollment Assistance Awards

CHICAGO - The Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) Program, in cooperation with nine state-level library organizations, will be offering Enrollment Assistance Awards (EAAs) this spring to library support staff applying for certification in the LSSC Program. The LSSC Program offers library support staff the opportunity to achieve recognition for their existing skills and knowledge, to gain new skills and knowledge and to enhance their library’s service to the public.

The nine states participating as partners with LSSC are: New York State Library, Oregon State Library, Texas Library Association, Missouri State Library, State Library of Louisiana, Wyoming State Library, Washington State Library, Idaho Commission of Libraries, and Colorado Library Consortium.

LSSC will be offering 36 Enrollment Assistance Awards (formerly Registration Assistance Awards), and 36 will be reserved for the state partners in the spring of 2013. These awards are for $175, one-half of the LSSC registration fee. Successful award recipients will pay the remainder of the fee. Those interested in applying at the national level will be able to submit their application from Feb. 15 – March 15, 2013, using the online form. The recipients of the awards will be chosen by a random drawing in late March, 2013. More information can be found on the LSSC Website.

The state-level organizations have up to four awards each to distribute. To apply for an EAA from a participating state, please contact the participating state organization. Only library support staff living in that state are eligible to apply at the state level.

Candidates may apply at both the national and state level, however only one EAA per person will be given. To be eligible to participate in LSSC and thus receive an Assistance Award, applicants must have a high school degree or its equivalent and have worked for the equivalent of one year (1,820 hours) as a library staff member or volunteer within the last five years.

The LSSC Program is partially funded by a grant to ALA from the Federal Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS), and managed by the ALA-Allied Professional Association. The most recent IMLS grant is ending and the spring EAAs will be the last ones offered.

Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) provides a path to recognition and awareness of the critical role that library support staff play in the delivery of quality library service. To achieve certification, support staff must achieve six of 10 competency sets either through development of an online portfolio or taking approved courses. The competency sets are: Foundation of Library Service; Technology; Communication and Teamwork; Access Services, Adult Readers’ Advisory Services; Cataloging and Classification; Collections; Reference and Information Services; Supervision and Management; and Youth Services.

Lorelle Swader, Director of LSSC commented, “We are really pleased that LSSC and state-wide library organization are partnering to support the Enrollment Assistance Awards. Library Support Staff will receive the recognition that they deserve by participating in LSSC. We appreciate IMLS’ support in recognizing the importance of qualified library support staff in providing excellent library service.”

Detailed additional information on support staff certification is available on the LSSC website. Please email with any questions.


Ian Lashbrook

Research Associate

ALA Allied Professional Association (ALA/APA)

800-545-2433 ext. 1411