For immediate release | October 9, 2012

ALA announces slate of Council candidates

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) announces the following individuals as candidates for positions on the ALA Council. These individuals were nominated by the Nominating Committee for the 2013 ALA Election:

Craig Scott Amos, library manager, Thomas Nelson Community College, Hampton, Va.

Thomas Jeremy Barthelmess, lecturer and curator, Butler Children’s Literature Center, Dominican University, Chicago

Judy T. Bivens, instructional resources librarian and MLIS program coordinator, Trevecca Nazarene University, Nashville, Tenn.

Elizabeth Jean Brumfield, distance services librarian, Prairie View A&M University, Prairie View, Texas

Frank Alan Bruno, library director, Dorchester County Library, St. George, S. C.

Madeline Bryant, senior librarian/department manager, Children’s Literature Department, Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles

Peggy Cadigan, associate state librarian, New Jersey State Library, Trenton, N.J.

Sharon R. Castleberry, coordinator of library automation, DeSoto (Texas) Public Library

Min Chou, librarian I/web coordinator, New Jersey City University, Jersey City, N.J.

Elizabeth Cox, special formats cataloger, associate professor, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Carbondale, Ill.

Cynthia Czesak, library director, Paterson (N.J.) Public Library

Erica Findley, digital resources and metadata librarian, Pacific University Library, Forest Grove, Ore.

Marianne Crandell Follis, librarian, Irving Public Library - Valley Ranch Branch, Irving, Texas

Martin L. Garnar, reference services librarian and professor of library science, Regis University, Denver

Dorcas Hand, director of libraries, Annunciation Orthodox School, Houston

Will Hires, engineering and scholarly communication librarian, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, La.

John M. Jackson, library supervisor, University of Southern California, Los Angeles

Rochelle Adele Jerla, librarian, Golden Acres Elementary/Pasadena ISD, Pasadena, Texas

Alys Jordan, head of research, instruction & outreach services, University of Alaska Fairbanks, Fairbanks, Alaska

Cristol Michelle Kapp, school librarian, Hamilton County Dept. of Education - Hardy Elementary School, Chattanooga, Tenn.

Lynda M. Kellam, Data Services & Government Information Librarian, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Greensboro, N.C.

Viccy (Victoria C.) Kemp, technical services manager, Flower Mound Public Library, Flower Mound, Texas

Kate Kosturski, institutional participation coordinator, UK and Northern Europe, JSTOR/ITHAKA, New York

Christopher Kyauk, librarian, San Leandro (Calif.) Public Library

Chihfeng P. Lin, associate professor, Shih Hsin University, Taipei, Taiwan

Olivia M. A. Madison, dean of the library, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa

Jason Martin, head of public services, Stetson University, DeLand, Fla.

Stephen L. Matthews, librarian, Foxcroft School, Middleburg, Va.

Nancy Milone-Hill, director, Boxford (Mass.) Town Library

Kathleen Moeller-Pfeiffer, associate state librarian, New Jersey State Library, Trenton, N.J.

Cynthia Nettles-Sankey, school media specialist, Floyd Elementary School, Montgomery, Ala.

Robbie Nickel, librarian, Sage Elementary School, Spring Creek, Nev.

Pamela Nixon-McCarter, library supervisor/coordinator, North Carolina Central University, Durham, N.C.

Jennifer S. Novia, administrative manager, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tenn.

Susan O'Neal, director, Middletown Township Public Library, Middletown, N.J.

John Pecoraro, assistant director, Manhattan Public Library, Manhattan, Kan.

Liz Philippi, manager of library services, Houston ISD, Houston

Jeannette Pierce, director, Klarchek Information Commons, Loyola University Libraries, Chicago

Celise Ann Reech-Harper, programming and public relations manager, Beauregard Parish Library, DeRidder, La.

Erin E. Rushton, web services librarian, Binghamton University, Binghamton, N.Y.

Edward Sanchez, head, library information technology, Raynor Memorial Libraries, Marquette University, Milwaukee

Theodore J. Schelvan, Jr., teacher librarian, Chief Umtuch Middle School, Battle Ground, Wash.

Jennifer K. Sheehan, curator of rare books, University of North Texas Libraries, Denton, Texas

Coral Sheldon-Hess, web services librarian, University of Alaska Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska

Tracy Reid Sumler, branch manager, Louden County Public Library, Potomac Falls, Va.

Elisa F. Topper, library director, Bettendorf Public Library, Bettendorf, Iowa

Temitope Toriola, PhD student, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.

Scott Walter, university librarian, DePaul University, Chicago

Alex Phillip Watson, reference librarian and assistant professor, University of Mississippi, Oxford, Miss.

Sarah Weeks, head of technical services, St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minn.

Lizz Zitron, outreach librarian, Carthage College, Kenosha, Wis.

Individuals who are interested in running for ALA Council by petition, may file petitions through the 11:59 p.m. on Monday, February 4, 2013. Instructions for filing petitions are available on the ALA website.

Ballot mailing for the 2013 ALA Election will begin on March 19. The election will close on April 26, 2013.


JoAnne M Kempf


Governance Office Executive Office (EXEC)

1-800-545-2433 ext.3212