For immediate release | January 23, 2012

YALSA announces 2012 Alex Awards

DALLAS- The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has selected 10 adult books with special appeal to teen readers to receive the 2012 Alex Awards. The awards, sponsored by the Margaret A. Edwards Trust, were announced today at the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Dallas, Jan. 20 – 24.

The 2012 Alex Award winners are:

  • “Big Girl Small” by Rachel DeWoskin, published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (ISBN 9780374112578 )
  • “In Zanesville” by Jo Ann Beard, published by Little, Brown & Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.(ISBN: 9780316084475)
  • “The Lover’s Dictionary,” by David Levithan, published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux(ISBN: 9780374193683)
  • “The New Kids: Big Dreams and Brave Journeys at a High School for Immigrant Teens,” by Brooke Hauser, published by Free Press, a division of Simon & Schuster, Inc.(ISBN: 9781439163283)
  • “The Night Circus,” by Erin Morgenstern, published by Doubleday, a division of Random House, Inc.(ISBN: 9780385534635)
  • “Ready Player One,” by Ernest Cline, published by Crown Publishers, an imprint of the Crown Publishing Group, a division of Random House, Inc.(ISBN: 9780307887436)
  • “Robopocalypse: A Novel,” by Daniel H. Wilson, published by Doubleday, a division of Random House, Inc.(ISBN: 978038553850)
  • “Salvage the Bones,” by Jesmyn Ward, published by Bloomsbury USA(ISBN: 9781608195220)
  • “The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt: A Novel in Pictures,” by Caroline Preston, published by Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers (ISBN: 9780061966903)
  • “The Talk-Funny Girl,” by Roland Merullo, published by Crown Publishers, an imprint of the Crown Publishing Group, a division of Random House, Inc.(ISBN: 9780307452924)

“The 2012 Alex Awards will take readers from rural New Hampshire to the robot apocalypse to Katrina-ravaged Mississippi to a magical circus. The Alex Award winners are as diverse and eclectic as the teens who will read them,” said Karen Keys, chair of the 2012 Alex Awards Committee. “

The Alex Awards were created to recognize that many teens enjoy and often prefer books written for adults, and to assist librarians in recommending adult books that appeal to teens. A full list of official nominations will be available online at

The award is named in honor of the late Margaret Alexander Edwards, fondly called “Alex” by her closest friends, a pioneer in providing library services to young adults. At Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, Edwards used adult books extensively with teens to broaden their experience and enrich their understanding of themselves and their world.

Members of the 2012 Alex Awards Committee are: Chair Karen Keys, Queens Library, Long Island City, N.Y.; Amy Cheney, Alameda County Juvenile Hall Library, San Leandro, Calif.; Meghan Cirrito, Queens (N.Y.) Library; Danielle Dreger-Babbitt, Sno-Isle Regional Library Mill Creek (Wash.) Library; Crystal Faris, Kansas City (Mo.) Public Library; Ann Perrigo, Allegan (Mich.) District Library; Tina Pounds, Edison High School Alexandria, Va.; Scott Rader, Hays (Kan.) Public Library; Ellen R. Wathen, Walnut Hills High School, Cincinnati; and Ian Chipman, Booklist Magazine, Chicago.

For more than 50 years, YALSA has been the world leader in selecting books, videos and audio books for teens. For more information about YALSA or for lists of recommended reading, viewing and listening, go to

For information on the Alex Awards and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit



Macey Morales