Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award winners announced

For Immediate Release
Fri, 12/09/2011


Megan McFarlane

NEW YORK - Yesterday, 10 librarians were recognized for service to their communities, schools and campuses as winners of the Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award.

More than 1,700 library patrons nationwide nominated a librarian.  The 10 award recipients are:

Venetia V. Demson
DC Public Library, Adaptive Services Division
Washington, D.C.

Martha Ferriby
Hackley Public Library
Muskegon, Mich.

Jennifer O. Keohane
The Simsbury Public Library
Simsbury, Conn.

Dr. Rhonda Allison Rios Kravitz
Sacramento City College
Sacramento, Calif.

Jennifer U. LaGarde
Myrtle Grove Middle School
Wilmington, N. C.

Elizabeth “Betsy” Long
Doby's Mill Elementary School Media Center
Lugoff, S. C.

Michelle Luhtala
New Canaan High School Library
New Canaan, Conn.

Saundra Ross-Forrest
North Avondale Branch Library (Birmingham Public Library System)
Birmingham, Ala.

Rebecca Traub
Temple University Harrisburg
Harrisburg, Pa.

Barbara K. Weaver
Ivy Tech Community College Northwest
Gary, Ind.

Each receives a $5,000 cash award and was honored at a ceremony and reception in New York, hosted by The New York Times, on Dec. 8.  

In their nominations, library patrons told stories of how their librarians make a difference in their community.  This year’s winners include a librarian who makes the library easier to use for people with disabilities, an innovator who integrates technology throughout her school for improved collaboration among students and teachers and a business outreach librarian who creates a space for the unemployed and local business community to learn new skills, network and collaborate.

Nominations were open to librarians working in public, school, college, community college and university libraries.  Forty librarians nationwide have won the I Love My Librarian award since 2008.  More information about the award recipients is available at  

The award is a collaborative program of Carnegie Corporation of New York, The New York Times and the American Library Association.    

Carnegie Corporation of New York is a philanthropic foundation created by Andrew Carnegie in 1911 to do "real and permanent good in this world."

The New York Times Company, a leading media company with 2010 revenues of $2.4 billion, includes The New York Times, the International Herald Tribune, The Boston Globe, 15 other daily newspapers and more than 50 Web sites, including,, and The Company’s core purpose is to enhance society by creating, collecting and distributing high-quality news, information and entertainment.