For immediate release | March 22, 2011

John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award winner announced

CHICAGO - Sally Tseng is this year’s recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) International Relations Committee’s John Ames/Humphry/OCLC/ Forest Press Award.

OCLC/Forest Press donated the cash award of $1,000, which is given to an individual for significant contribution to international librarianship.

Sally Tseng received this award for her significant contributions to international librarianship during the 40 years of her professional career. She has made substantial and distinguished contributions to international librarianship by playing a leading role at the local, national and international levels. She has helped libraries and librarians in Asia and the United States through presentations and workshops on cataloging, subject analysis and new technology. She has been instrumental in introducing and implementing international standards in cataloging and electronic resources in libraries in many Asian countries.

Tseng has chaired and served on more than 50 committees of the American Library Association (ALA), the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), the Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA), the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) and the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). She was President of APALA, CALA, served on the ALA Council and acted as the executive director of CALA before retiring in 2002 from her administrative position at the University of California, Irvine. She was successful in arranging exchange visits between Chinese and American librarians and organized many conferences in China and the United States that attracted many delegates from both countries. In addition, she raised more than $30,000 with the help of CALA, to rebuild libraries in China and Taiwan that were destroyed and damaged by natural disasters.

Tseng will be recognized during the International Relations Round Table Chair’s Program on Monday, June 27 at the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

For additional information or to view a list of past recipients, please visit the John Ames/Humphry/OCLC/ Forest Press Award site.


Delin Guerra