For immediate release | March 22, 2011

ALSC names 2011 Penguin Award winners

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2011 Penguin Young Readers Group Award to four children’s librarians. The award consists of a $600 grant, sponsored by Penguin Young Readers Group, for winners to attend their first ALA Annual Conference.

The four winners are Patricia Carroll from Shamona Creek Elementary School in Downingtown, Pa., Allison Hill from the Bloomington Public Library, in Bloomington, Ind., Mellissa Sanchez from Highlands Elementary School in Sugar Land, Texas, and Laura Simeon from The Open Window School/Vista Academy in Bellevue, Wash.

To be considered for the award, applicants must have less than 10 years of experience as a children’s librarian and work directly with children. Also, the award is only available to first-time conference attendees.

“We’re excited to be offering these four librarians an opportunity to attend the American Library Association Annual Conference in New Orleans for the first time,” said Grant Administration Chair Susan Veltfort. “Annual Conference is an excellent opportunity for professional development, and we wish them the best.”

ALSC, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,200 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at

Members of the 2011 ALSC Grant Administration Committee include: Susan Veltfort, chair, King County (Wash.) Library System; Nancy Baumann, School of Information Science & Learning Technologies, University of Missouri; Krista Britton, Prince William (Va.) Schools; Lori Coffey Hancock, Lexington (Ky.) School; Melanie Lyttle, Madison (Ohio) Public Library; Katherine Tekakwitha McCabe, Briarcliff Middle School, N.Y.; Kristine Springer, St. Joseph County (Ind.) Public Library; Tracy-Lyn Van Dyne, Conetquot (N.Y.) Public Library; and Vera Wexler, N.Y.


Dan Rude