ALSC invites host site applications for 2012 Arbuthnot Lecture with Peter Sís

For Immediate Release
Tue, 03/01/2011


Dan Rude

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the 2012 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Committee are announcing that applications are currently being accepted for the 2012 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture featuring well-known children’s illustrator Peter Sís. 

The Arbuthnot Lecture is an annual event, announced at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting, in which an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature presents a paper that makes a significant contribution to the field. A library school, department of education in a college or university or a children’s library system may be considered. The lecture is administered by ALSC.

Host site application forms can be downloaded at; click on the link under “Breaking News.” Completed applications are due May 1, 2011. Information about host site responsibilities is included in the application materials. The lecture traditionally is held in April or early May.

In January, Peter Sís was chosen by the Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Committee to speak in 2012. “Peter Sís is internationally recognized for his contributions to the field of children’s literature, and we are thrilled to recognize him and his body of work,” stated 2012 Arbuthnot Committee Chair Shawn S. Brommer.

Born in Brno, Czechoslovakia in 1949, Sís attended the Academy of Applied Arts in Prague and the Royal College of Art in London. He has lived in the United States since 1982. He was awarded the 2008 Robert F. Sibert Medal and has illustrated three Caldecott Honor books. His work is admired throughout the world, and in 2003 he was named a MacArthur Fellow, an honor bestowed by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

ALSC established this lecture series in 1969, with sponsorship from Scott, Foresman and Company (now Pearson Scott Foresman) in honor of author May Hill Arbuthnot.  The lectureship, now funded by the ALSC May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Endowment, has the distinction of featuring many notable  authors, critics, librarians, historians and  teachers of children’s literature from  various  countries.  Past lecturers over the decades have included Mary Ørvig, Leland B. Jacobs, Virginia Hamilton, Maurice Sendak and Richard Jackson. Lois Lowry will present the 2011 Arbuthnot Lecture on Friday, April 15, hosted by the St. Louis County Library in St. Louis.

ALSC, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children.  With a network of more than 4,200 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at