For immediate release | September 24, 2010

Stroyan, Sullivan seek 2012-13 ALA Presidency

CHICAGO - Susan Stroyan and Maureen Sullivan are the candidates for the 2012-13 presidency of the American Library Association (ALA).

Stroyan is the Information Services Librarian at the Ames Library at Illinois Wesleyan University in Bloomington, Ill. She has held leadership positions in public, special, multitype library system, and academic settings over the past 34 years.

Stroyan has been a member of ALA since 1975 serving as a member-at-large on ALA Council from (1994-1998) and the ALA Self Study Committee (1992-1995). She chaired the ALA Awards Committee (2008-2010). For ACRL, she was a member of National Conference Executive Committee (1997-1998), (1999-2001), & (2001-2003).

She has been both a participant and mentor in the Small College Mentor Program, (1996-1997), (1998-1999), & (2007-2008). She served as LAMA President (1991-1992) Stroyan served as president (2009-2010) for Beta Phi Mu International Library and Information Studies Honor Society. She has also held offices in state and regional library associations including serving as president of Illinois Library Association (1995-1996).

Stroyan’s honors include Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year (2000) and Illinois State University Honored Alumna (2002).

She has a B.S. in library science from Illinois State University (1972), and an M.S. (1973) and PhD (1986) in library science from the University of Illinois.

“I’m inspired by our colleagues around the country that have achieved high levels of success by leading their communities to new heights of library awareness in these difficult economic times. Together we can continue to strengthen all libraries building on their accomplishments. I have worked in libraries since I was 16 years old. My front line experiences have provided me the opportunity to perform or supervise most aspects of library work. I am honored, humbled, and excited at the possible opportunity to serve ALA as President.”

Sullivan serves as a consultant to numerous libraries of all types - academic, public, school, law. health sciences and other special libraries – and library consortia. In addition, she is a professor of practice in the Ph.D. program, Managerial Leadership in the Information Professions, at the Simmons College Graduate School of Library and Information Science.

She spent 12 years as the human resources administrator in the libraries at the University of Maryland (1977-1980) and at Yale University (1983-1991). She was also the Management Training Specialist at the Association of Research Libraries (1980-1983).

Sullivan is past president (1998-1999) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). She was also president of the Library Administration and Management Association for the 1988-89 term.

Her other ALA activities include work as co-chair of ALA President Roberta Stevens’ initiative, Our Authors, Our Advocates, co-chair of the Emerging Leaders Initiative, 2006-08, chair of the Office for Library Personnel Resources Advisory Committee, 1991-93 and chair of the Minority Fellow Program Advisory Board, 1989-1995.

She was chosen the 2010 Academic/Research Librarian of the Year by the Association of College and Research Libraries. Her other honors include the American Library Association’s Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award in 1999.

Sullivan received a BA in history (1974) and an MLS (1976) from the University of Maryland.

“I’m delighted to have this opportunity,” she said. “The new strategic plan offers an excellent framework for ALA to lead in the digital world. ALA must be at the table when key decisions are made that will affect the future of intellectual freedom, access to information, literacy, and lifelong learning.”


JoAnne M Kempf