For immediate release | May 10, 2010

2010 guide to the Newbery and Caldecott award-winners

CHICAGO — ALA Editions, the publishing imprint of the American Library Association, announces the release of “The Newbery and Caldecott Awards: A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books, 2010 Edition.” Published in association with the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), this latest edition covers awards for the most distinguished American children’s literature and illustration. Updated with the 2010 award winners, the book also includes

  • A new preface from ALSC Executive Director Aimee Strittmatter
  • Revised awards’ eligibility criteria, alongside a new essay, “The Times They Are a-Changin’,” by former ALSC Executive Director Diane Foote
  • Updated bibliographic citations and index for the award winners

For more than eight decades, librarians from the Association for Library Service to Children have intensely scrutinized the children's books published each year, selecting the winning and honor books for the Newbery and Caldecott Awards. In addition, ALSC is committed to creating a nation of readers, starting with the youngest. ALSC supports all those providing library services to children, including youth librarians, teachers, families, literature experts, publishers and child advocates.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.

ALA Editions publishes resources used worldwide by tens of thousands of library and information professionals to improve programs, build on best practices, develop leadership, and for personal professional development. ALA authors and developers are leaders in their fields, and their content is published in a growing range of print and electronic formats.

# # #

Related Links

ALA Editions

ALA Store


Jill Davis

Marketing Manager

ALA Editions

800-545-2433 ext. 5418