ALSC announces 2010 election results

Contact: Laura Schulte-Cooper
ALSC Program Officer

For Immediate Release
April 30, 2010

CHICAGO – Mary J. Fellows, manager, youth and family services, Upper Hudson Library System, Albany, N.Y., has been elected vice-president/president-elect of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

“I am honored to be chosen to lead ALSC, and to stand on the shoulders of the giants—member-leaders and excellent staff—who have built our terrific organization,” Fellows said. “I look forward to the energizing and fun challenge of helping this organization of creative, flexible and hardworking people reach new heights!”

Fellows received her master’s in library science from Indiana University, Bloomington in 1986 and has been a member of ALSC for 24 years. She currently serves on the ALSC Board of Directors and also has served on the Caldecott, Managing Children’s Services and Notable Children’s Books Committees, among others.

Fellows is active in the New York Library Association, where she served as president of the Youth Services Section in 2006-2007. She founded and produces the annual Riverway Storytelling Festival, a seven-day, 11-location, multi-event celebration involving internationally acclaimed storytellers, student teller training, a juried showcase, free performances and workshops for novice and experienced tellers. In 2006 Riverway received an award honoring its role in preserving and interpreting the features that make the City of Albany unique.

The two members elected to serve on the ALSC Board of Directors include Carolyn S. Brodie, Kent State University, Ohio, and Nina Lindsay, Oakland (Calif.) Public Library.

The newly elected vice-president and board members will be seated to the ALSC Board of Directors in June 2010, at the close of the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.

Individuals elected to serve on the 2012 Newbery, Caldecott, Sibert and 2013 Wilder Award Selection Committees are:

2012 Newbery: Laura Amos, Newport News (Va.) Public Library System, Grissom Library; Timothy Capehart, Dayton (Ohio) Metro Library; Mary Clark, Greenwich (Conn.) Country Day School; Stacy Dillon, Little Red School House & Irwin High School, New York; Renee McGrath, Nassau Library System, Uniondale, N.Y.; Eva Mitnick, Los Angeles Public Library; Lynn Rutan, Holland, Mich.; and Amanda Williams, Austin (Texas) Public Library.

2012 Caldecott: Pabby Arnold, East Baton Rouge Parish Public Library, Baton Rouge, La.; Christine Caputo, Free Library of Philadelphia; Tony Carmack, Ashburn (Va.) Library; Ellen Fader, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore.; Cathryn Mercier, Simmons College, Boston; John Peters, New York Public Library; April Roy, Kansas City (Mo.) Public Library; and Allison Santos, Princeton (N.J.) Public Library.

2012 Sibert: Roxane Bartelt, Kenosha (Wis.) Public Library; Richard Kerper, Millerville (Pa.) University, Sue A. Walker Children’s Literature Center; Karen MacPherson, Takoma Park (Md.) Library; April Mazza, Wayland (Mass.) Free Public Library; and Deborah Taylor, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore.

2013 Wilder: Darwin Henderson, University of Cincinnati, Ohio; Heather McNeil, Deschutes Public Library, Bend, Ore.; and Margaret Tice, New York.

Thom Barthelmess, current ALSC President, has appointed the following award committee chairs: Viki Ash, San Antonio (Texas) Public Library, 2012 Newbery Award Committee chair; Steve Herb, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Penn., 2012 Caldecott Award Committee chair; Andrew Medlar, Chicago Public Library, 2012 Sibert Award Committee chair; and Martha Paravanno, Horn Book Inc., Boston, 2013 Wilder Award Committee Chair. Julie Corsaro, current ALSC vice-president/president-elect, will appoint the remaining members to these four committees as well as the members of ALSC’s other prestigious award committees this fall.

The Newbery and Caldecott Awards are the oldest and most prestigious awards in children’s literature, honoring the most outstanding writing and illustration, respectively, in works published in the United States during the preceding year. The Sibert Award is given annually to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished informational book published in the preceding year. The Wilder Award, given biennially, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

ALSC is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit their website at