Michael Gorman receives 2010 Haycock Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer



For Immediate Release

March 10, 2009

ALA is announcing Michael Gorman, past-president of the American Library Association, as the 2010 winner of the Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship.

Gorman is the 10th winner of this award, funded by Ken Haycock. Gorman is the University Librarian Emeritus, Henry Madden Library, California State University, Fresno.

The Haycock Award is an annual award honoring an individual for contributing significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching and/or writing. “This award is a fitting acknowledgment of his lifetime contribution toward promoting the profession with dedication, intelligence and passion through many written works and hundreds of spoken presentation,” noted one individual who nominated Gorman.

Gorman has been promoting the profession for decades as an educator, an activist and a writer. He deeply believes in the values of the profession and has become a spokesman for these values through his highly accessible writings for publications, including the Los Angeles Times, American Libraries, Library Journal and the Bodleian Library Journal and many more. He has written books about the profession of librarianship and the value of traditional librarianship. Among them are “Our Enduring Values: librarianship in the 21st century” (ALA, 2000) and “Our Own Selves: More Meditations for Librarians” (ALA, 2005). His books are foundation reading for today’s library school students as well as experienced professionals.

“Gorman may be best known as one of the editors of the
Anglo-American Cataloging Rules, but in reality it is his promotion of library education, promotion of the profession at large and his commitment to libraries that is his lasting legacy. These are the reasons the jury selected Michael Gorman, as the 2010 Haycock Award winner,” said Liz Bishoff, 2010 jury chair.

The annual award, consisting of $1,000 and a citation of achievement, will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. in June.

Members of the 2010 Haycock Award committee are: Chair, Liz Bishoff, BCR, Aurora, Colo.; Toni Anaya, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, Neb.; Lace Keaton, Okefenokee Regional Library System, Waycross, Ga.; and Cathy Martyniak, University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla.

The deadline for submission of nominations for the 2010 Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship is Dec. 1. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site: http://www.ala.org, in the Professional Recognition section under Awards & Grants.