Loida García-Febo receives 2010 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer



For Immediate Release

March 9, 2010

CHICAGO – Loida García-Febo, assistant coordinator of the New Americans Program & Special Services at the Queens Library (N.Y.), is the 2010 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award. This award is given biennially to an individual for making positive changes in the profession of librarianship and consists of a 24K gold-framed citation and $1,000 contributed by the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund of the American Library Association.

“The jury for the 2010 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award is pleased to honor Loida García-Febo for her research, conference presentations and work to recruit and involve new librarians in professional work, both nationally and internationally,” said Eva M. Davis, Director, Canton (Mich.) Public Library and Chair of the 2010 Futas Award Committee.

In her current work at Queens and her past work in Puerto Rico, García-Febo develops programs and services for older adults, persons with disabilities, immigrants and other underserved populations. In her professional association work with the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA), American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, García-Febo has dedicated herself to connecting new library professionals to established librarians and encouraging minority recruitment and retention in the profession. García-Febo’s research, presentations, conference planning and advocacy bridge the gap between new and established librarians on a national and international scale and have taken her to South Africa, Argentina, Japan and Italy. She was recognized as a 2007
Library Journal Mover and Shaker as a “Freedom Fighter” who advocates for the rights foreign-language speaking and other underserved populations to receive library services equitably.

“The Futas jury was impressed by the depth of appreciation and respect shown by colleagues who wrote in support of her nomination for this award,” Davis said. “As one colleague stated, ‘Loida has been a leader in helping new librarians grow and achieve and in working for change within the ALA, REFORMA and IFLA.’” Davis continued, “From a pool of highly-qualified candidates, the Committee decided that García-Febo’s accomplishments as an agent of change in libraries, library associations and library publishing and research best exemplify the qualities of Dr. Elizabeth Futas. We are pleased to name her the recipient of the 2010 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award.”

Members of the 2010 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award Jury are: Eva M. Davis, Canton (Mich.) Public Library; Dr. Barbara A. Burd, Coastal Carolina (S.C.) University Libraries; Georgie Lynn Donovan, Appalachian State University (N.C.) Carol Grotnes Belk Library & Information Commons; Jane Kessler, University Libraries, University at Albany, State University of New York; and Amy E. Wallace, John Spoor Broom Library, California State University Channel Islands.

The Futas Award will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C., June 24 – 29, 2010.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2012 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award is Dec. 1, 2011. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site:
http://www.ala.org, in the Professional Recognition section under Awards & Grants.