Ken Haycock receives 2010 Beta Phi Mu Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer



For Immediate Release,

March 29, 2010

CHICAGO - Dr. Ken Haycock, professor and director at the School of Library and Information Science at San Jose State University, has been selected as the recipient of the American Library Association’s 2010 Beta Phi Mu Award. This annual award, donated by the Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society, is presented to a library school faculty member or to an individual for distinguished service to education in librarianship.

Dr. Haycock received a B.A. in Political Science and a Diploma in Education from the University of Western Ontario, a Master of Education from the University of Ottawa, an A.M.L.S. from the University of Michigan, an MBA from Royal Roads University and an Ed.D. from Brigham Young University. He has held senior positions in both his native Canada and the United States, including director at the University of British Columbia’s School of Library, Archival and Information Studies. He is also senior partner at Ken Haycock & Associates, Inc., which works with organizations to build capacity for leadership, collaboration and advocacy.

Among his many professional activities with the American Library Association, Dr. Haycock served as chair of the National Steering Committee for the Congress on Professional Education and was a member of the Presidential Initiative Task Force on Education and Training, the Committee on Education, the Committee on Accreditation, the ALA Council and the ALA Executive Board. He has also been president of many national and international associations, including the Association for Library and Information Science Education and the Canadian Library Association. Dr. Haycock established and chaired the Awards Jury of the First International Forum on Research in School Librarianship, served as Director for North America of the International Association of School Librarianship and was the founding president of the Council for Canadian Learning Resources, initiating Canada’s only national journal for the review of Canadian books and other media for young people. Dr. Haycock has published widely in the field of Library and Information Science education and is the recipient of several significant professional honors and awards, including the American Library Association Herbert and Virginia White Award for promoting the profession of librarianship, the Canadian Library Association Outstanding Service to Librarianship Award), the Canadian School Library Association Margaret B. Scott Award of Merit and, from the Association for Library and Information Science, its Service Award (2008) and the Award for Professional Contributions to Library and Information Science Education Award this year.

In selecting Dr. Haycock for this award, the Jury commended him for his long and distinguished career as an educator and mentor to students, faculty, board members and librarians; his outstanding and far-reaching service to librarianship in the United States and Canada; his history of leadership in a variety of important library organizations, institutions, government agencies and boards; his laudable record of research, publication, professional activity and honors; and his lifelong commitment to scholarship, the University community and the improvement of teaching and learning.

Members of the 2010 Beta Phi Mu Award Jury are: Eric W. Johnson, Southeastern Louisiana University, Hammond, La. (Chair); Carl A. Antonucci, Capital Community College, Ludlow, Mass.; Rachel C. Crowley, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Terre Haute, Ind.; Kristin Whitechair, University of Kansas Medical Center, Lawrence, Kan; Charlotte C. Xanders, California State University – Sacramento Library, Davis, Calif.

The Beta Phi Mu Award will be presented at the ALA Award Ceremony and Reception, prior to the Inaugural Banquet, on June 29 during the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2011 Beta Phi Mu Award is Dec. 1, 2010. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site,, in the Awards & Grants section under Professional Recognition.