ALA Diversity Office Calls for Research Grant Proposals

Contact: Miguel A. Figueroa

Office for Diversity



For Immediate Release

January 26, 2010

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) Office for Diversity seeks proposals for its Diversity Research Grant program. Applicants must be current ALA members, and 2010 proposals must address one of three identified topics:

  • Upward mobility of Library Leaders from Underrepresented Populations
  • Information Services and Collections for Diverse Children and Young Adults
  • Libraries and the Meaning of Multiculturalism

Since 2002, the office has sponsored the program to address critical gaps in the knowledge of diversity issues within library and information science. The application deadline is April 30. Only proposals demonstrating relevance to the 2010 research topics will be considered.

The Diversity Research Grant consists of a one-time $2,000 award for original research and a $500 travel grant to attend and present at the 2011 ALA Annual Conference. A jury of ALA members will evaluate proposals and is encouraged to award one proposal from each of this year’s topics for a total of three awards. Grant recipients will be announced ahead of the 2010 ALA Annual Conference and will be expected to compile the results of their research into a presentation for the 2011 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans, La.

A complete proposal must include the following: a cover letter, a one-page vita for each of the researchers involved, a concise abstract of the project and a description of the project detailing the justification and needs for the research project, research objectives, expected outcomes and benefits, budget plan and timeline.

For a complete list of the criteria on which proposals will be evaluated, please visit:

Persons submitting a proposal must be current ALA members. If you are not presently a member of ALA, but wish to submit a proposal, please visit for information on becoming a member. Applicants must supply membership ID numbers with proposals.

ALA’s Office for Diversity offers thanks to the Diversity Research Grants Advisory Committee for developing this year’s topics. The Diversity Research Grants Advisory Committee members are Veronica L.C. Stevenson-Moudamane (chair), Vickie E. Beene, Nikki Busch, Sylvia D. Hall-Ellis, Ph.D., Joyce E. Jelks, Cheryl Knott Malone, Ph.D., and Raymond P. Schwartz.

Submissions should be sent by mail to the ALA Office for Diversity, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611. Electronic submissions are preferred and should be submitted in a Word document attachment. Email electronic submissions to

For more information, please email or call (800) 545-2433, ext. 5295.