2010 Penguin Young Readers Group Award Winners named

Contact: Jenny Najduch

ALSC Marketing Specialist

(312) 280-4026



For Immediate Release,

February 10, 2010

CHICAGO—The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2010 Penguin Young Readers Group Award to four children’s librarians. The award consists of a $600 grant, sponsored by Penguin Young Readers Group, for winners to attend their first ALA Annual Conference.

The four winning librarians are: Elizabeth Dalton from the San Antonio (Texas) Public Library; Marisa Glaviano from the Westerville (Ohio) Public Library; Kathleen Houlihan from the Austin (Texas) Public Library; and Susan Ridgeway from the Streetsboro (Ohio) City Schools.

To be considered for the award, applicants must have less than 10 years of experience as a children’s librarian and work directly with children. Also, the award is only available to first-time conference attendees.

ALSC, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,200 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s Web site at

Members of the 2010 ALSC Grant Administration Committee include: Linda Ernst, King County (Wash.) Library System; Lynn Piper Carpenter, Birmingham (Ala.) Public Library; Stacy Dillon, LREI, N.Y.; Peter Howard, Louisville (Ky.) Free Public Library; Richard Michael Kerper, Millersville University, Pa.; April Mazza, Wayland (Mass.) Free Public Library; Stephanie Ann Simpson, N.C.; Margie Stern, Delaware County (Pa.) Library System; and Tracy-Lyn Van Dyne, Connetquot (N.Y.) Public Library.