Schottlaender named 2010 Melvil Dewey Medal Award winner

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer



For Immediate Release,

February 10, 2010

CHICAGO – Brian E. C. Schottlaender, The Audrey Geisel University Librarian at the University of California, San Diego, has been chosen to receive the American Library Association’s 2010 Melvil Dewey Medal Award, sponsored by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). This prestigious professional honor, given in recognition of creative leadership of high order, is named after Melvil Dewey, who was actively interested in library management, library training, cataloging and classification and the tools and techniques of librarianship. Schottlaender has excelled in each of these areas.

The jury for the 2010 Melvil Dewey Medal is pleased to honor Brian E. C. Schottlaender for his many accomplishments during a long and distinguished career in major research libraries. He has excelled as principal investigator in major research projects, as a leader of our profession and as a prolific presenter and author.

The jury especially noted:

  • Schottlaender’s many initiatives aimed at improving library service both within UC San Diego and in the University of California (UC) system as a whole. These efforts include work on digital collections, applications of supercomputing, the next generation of the UC’s MELVYL union catalog, the design and use of UC San Diego’s university library buildings and rationalizing UC’s library collections.
  • His professional contributions over many years, including the presidency of both ALA’s Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) and the Association of Research Libraries, and work connected with OCLC and the Hathi Trust.
  • His many publications on cataloging, digital libraries, special collections and a variety of other topics, along with his well-received presentations on a variety of subjects at national, state and specialized conferences.

The jury chair, Michael Gorman, stated that “taken together, these numerous and various achievements demonstrate the high-level ‘creative professional achievement in library management and the tools and techniques of librarianship’ that the Dewey Medal was established to honor.”

Schottlaender has served on numerous ALA bodies, including the ALCTS Board and ACRL committees. He has also served on the Joint Steering Committee for the Revision of AACR (now the Joint Steering Committee for Development of RDA, (JSC)) as ALA’s representative, as chair of the Library of Congress’ Program for Cooperative Cataloging and on OCLC committees. Currently, he is secretary of the Board of Directors of the Center for Research Libraries, a member of the Hathi Trust Executive Committee, and an elected delegate to OCLC’s Global Council. His previous awards include ALCTS’s Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award and the Margaret Mann Citation.

The 2010 Melvil Dewey Award will be presented at the ALA Award Ceremony and Reception on Tuesday, June 29, during the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.

Members of the 2010 Melvil Dewey Award jury include: Michael Gorman, University Librarian Emeritus, California State University, Fresno; Emily Bergman, Occidental College, Los Angeles, Calif.; Nancy Davenport, Washington, D.C. Public Library; Carol Lynn Schuetz, Baylor University Libraries; and Winston Tabb, The Johns Hopkins University Libraries, Baltimore, Md.;

The deadline for submissions of applications for the 2011 Melvil Dewey Award is Dec. 1, 2010 Guidelines and application forms are available at