Dec. 1 deadline for ALCTS 2010 Publication Awards nominations

Contact: Charles Wilt

Executive Director, ALCTS



For Immediate Release

September 15, 2009

CHICAGO - Nominations are being accepted for the 2009 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) awards for excellence in publication. ALCTS presents two Publication Awards to honor individuals for outstanding achievement in research and writing in the field of library collections and technical services. Â

If you are interested in nominating a publication for either of the awards, contact the chair of that award jury.
The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Dec. 1.

Best of LRTS Award:

The award is given to the author(s) of the best paper published in Library Resources & Technical Services (LRTS), the official journal of ALCTS. The winner will receive a citation and $250 from ALCTS. Papers published in volume 52 (2008) are eligible for consideration, with the exception of official reports and documents, obituaries, letters to the editor and biographies of award winners. Each paper will be judged on the following points: content with a significant contribution about one or more issues addressed by ALCTS and its sections; statements in the paper are adequately supported by accurate data and/or documentation; and clear and readable writing style.

Send nominations, along with the title of the paper being nominated and the reasons for the nomination to:Â Xudong Jin, chair, Best of LRTS Jury,

Blackwell’s Scholarship Award:

The award honors an author or a group of authors who have written an outstanding monograph, article or original paper in the field of acquisitions, collection development or related areas of resource development in libraries. Blackwell’s will donate a $2,000 scholarship to the United States or Canadian library school of the winning author’s choice. The scholarship will be given to a student concentrating in the acquisitions or collection development areas. Publications from 2008 are eligible. Reprints of earlier publications will not be accepted. The evaluation criteria include: intellectual content; practical value; theoretical value; scholarship; presentation; and style.Â

Send nominations, along with a statement giving the full bibliographic citation of the article, book or paper being nominated and reasons for the nomination to:Â Hildegund Calvert, chair, Blackwell’s Jury,