ACRL offers e-Learning scholarships

Contact: Margot Conahan


(312) 280-2522


For Immediate Release

September 8, 2009

CHICAGO - The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) announces new e-Learning scholarships to help librarians, library staff and library school students stretch their professional development dollars. Twenty scholarships, each covering the registration cost of one ACRL e-Learning Webcast, will be awarded. Complete details are available on the ACRL e-Learning Web site at Â

To qualify for a scholarship, applicants must be ACRL members, complete the online scholarship application form and submit a 300-word written statement that describes how participation in an ACRL e-Learning Webcast meets your professional needs and goals. The application deadline is Oct. 16, 2009, with notifications issued by late November.

Applications must be submitted via the online submission form available at Scholarships can be redeemed for any ACRL e-Learning Webcast offered between Dec.15, 2009, and Aug. 31, 2010.

ACRL e-Learning Webcasts take place live in an interactive, online classroom and are typically 1.5 hours in length. A complete list of Webcast offerings is available at

Complete details are online at Send questions on scholarships and the application process to Margot Conahan at or (312) 280-2522.

The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) is a division of the American Library Association (ALA), representing nearly 13,000 academic and research librarians and interested individuals. ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic and research librarians. Its initiatives enable the higher education community to understand the role that academic libraries play in the teaching, learning and research environments. ACRL is on the Web at