ALCTS seeking 2010 Continuing Resources Awards candidates

Contact: Charles Wilt

Executive Director, ALCTS



For Immediate Release

September 15, 2009

CHICAGO - Nominations are being accepted for the 2009 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) awards for outstanding achievement and promise in the field of serials and continuing resources.Â

The awards are presented by the Continuing Resources Section of ALCTS. One award honors an individual who shows outstanding promise in the field of serials, while the other recognizes an individual whose work represents the finest achievements in research, collaboration, creative work, leadership and service.Â

If you are interested in nominating a candidate for either of the awards, contact the chair of that award jury.
The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Dec. 1.

First Step Award: The ALCTS Continuing Resources Section presents the award, a Wiley Professional Development Grant. The award provides librarians new to the serials field with the opportunity to broaden their perspectives and encourages professional development and participation at American Library Association (ALA) conferences and Continuing Resources Section activities.Â

All ALA members with five or fewer years of professional experience in the serials field who have not previously attended an ALA Annual Conference are eligible. The award consists of $1,500, donated by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., and is applicable toward round-trip transportation, lodging, registration fees, etc. Eligible applicants may apply more than once. Winners will be chosen based on: commitment to professional development in the serials field as shown by participation in continuing education activities, workshops and previous participation in professional activities; candidate’s written justification for the grant in terms of commitment to and interest in serials related work; personal professional development; financial need; two letters of reference; and a vita. Send nominations to: Sandra Roe, chair, First Step Jury,

Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award: Presented by the ALCTS Continuing Resources Section,the award consists of a citation and $1,500 donated by ProQuest. The award is given for distinguished contributions to serials librarianship, including such activities as leadership in serials-related activities through participation in professional associations and/or library education programs; contributions to the body of serials literature; conduct of research in the area of serials; development of tools or methods to enhance access to or management of serials; and other advances leading to a better understanding of the field of serials. Send nominations to: Marla Chesler, chair, Ulrich’s Jury,