Kornblau, Neal run for 2010-2013 ALA Treasurer

Contact: JoAnne Kempf

Office of ALA Governance

(312) 280-3212


For Immediate Release,

Oct. 2, 2009

CHICAGO – Alan Kornblau and James Neal are the 2010-2013 candidates for the office of treasurer of the American Library Association.

Kornblau is the director of the Delray Beach (Fla.) Public Library.

With more than 20 years of experience in the library field, Kornblau was most recently director of the Oakland Park Library as well as the head of the Oakland Park Performing Arts Program before coming to Delray Beach.

He has previously served as regional library manager for the Southwest County Regional Library, Palm Beach County Library System, Boca Raton, Fla., from 1996 - 1998; supervisor of reference services for the Camden County Library System, Voorhees, N.J., from 1992 - 1996; library director for the Washington County Public Library, Abingdon, Va., from 1989 - 1992; and reference librarian II for the Adult Continuing Education Department for the Forsyth County Public Library, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 1988 - 1989. Prior to entering the library profession, Alan was a casino dealer in Atlantic City, N.J.

He is the current treasurer of the Florida Library Association and has served on the Public Library Association Legislation Committee as well as the Allie Beth Martin Award Jury Committee. Locally, he serves as a member on the Delray Beach Parking Management Advisory Board and is a Board Member of the Rotary Club of Delray Beach.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Literature and Language from Richard Stockton College of New Jersey (formerly Stockton State College) and a Master of Science degree in Library Science from Florida State University.

Neal is currently the vice president for information services and university librarian at Columbia University, a system of 22 libraries. His responsibilities include the Columbia Center for New Media Teaching and Learning, the Center for Digital Research and Scholarship, the Copyright Advisory Office and the Center for Human Rights Documentation and Research.

Previously, has served as the dean of university libraries at Indiana University and Johns Hopkins University and held administrative positions in the libraries at Penn State, Notre Dame, and the City University of New York.

Neal has served on the Council and Executive Board of the American Library Association and is currently chair of the Budget Analysis and Review Committee (BARC); on the Board and as president of the Association of Research Libraries; on the Board and as chair of the Research Libraries Group (RLG), and chair of the RLG Program Committee of the OCLC Board.

He has served on the Scholarly Communication committees of ARL and ACRL and as Chair of the Steering Committee of SPARC, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, and currently on the Board of the Columbia University Press. He was an advisor to the U.S. delegation at the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) diplomatic conference on copyright. He was selected the 1997 Academic Librarian of the Year by the Association of College and Research Libraries and was the 2007 recipient of ALA’s Hugh Atkinson Memorial Award and the 2009 ALA Melvil Dewey Medal Award.