Freedom to Read Foundation announces nominating committee

Contact: Deborah Caldwell-Stone

Acting Executive Director, Freedom to Read Foundation


For Immediate Release

October 12, 2009

CHICAGO - The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) has announced the nominating committee for its April 2010 election. Members are: Candace Morgan, Portland, Ore. (chair); Christine Jenkins, Champaign, Ill.; and Burton Joseph, Chicago.

Five positions on the FTRF board of trustees will be filled in the election to be held April 1 – May 1, 2010. Newly elected trustees will serve a two-year term on the board, beginning at the close of the 2010 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference and continuing through the end of the 2012 ALA Annual Conference. Trustees are required to attend two one-day meetings per year, in conjunction with the ALA Annual Conference and Midwinter Meeting.

Only FTRF members are eligible to seek election to the board.

Nominations should be sent by Jan. 13, 2010 to: Freedom to Read Foundation, Attn: Candace Morgan, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611. In addition, nominations may be e-mailed to FTRF members also may be slated for candidacy by petition by submitting 25 signatures of current FTRF members in support of the candidate. The executive director of the Foundation must receive names of petition candidates and the required signatures to support each no later than Jan. 29, 2010.

The Freedom to Read Foundation, a sister organization of the American Library Association, was founded in 1969 to promote and defend the right of individuals to freely express ideas and to access information in libraries and elsewhere. FTRF fulfills its mission through the disbursement of grants to individuals and groups, primarily for the purpose of aiding them in litigation, and through direct participation in litigation dealing with freedom of speech and of the press.