RUSA seeking nominations for Mudge Award honoring contributions to reference

Contact: Liz Markel

Marketing Specialist, RUSA/ASCLA

(312) 280-4398


For Immediate Release

October 6, 2009

CHICAGO—The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) is seeking nominations of accomplished reference librarians for the 2010
Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award.

Sponsored by
Gale Cengage Learning, the Mudge Award was established in 1958. It presents a cash award of $5,000 and a citation to an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship. This contribution may include an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; authorship of a significant book or articles in the reference field; creative and inspirational teaching; active participation in professional associations devoted to reference services; or leadership in other noteworthy professional activities.

Nominations for the 2010 award should be submitted to
Robert Kieft, award committee chair. Submitted materials should include a letter of nomination explaining why the nominee is deserving of this recognition and citing specific achievements; three to five letters of recommendation; a copy of the nominee’s resume or curriculum vitae; and any other appropriate documentation. All nomination documents should be sent via e-mail in electronic files as MSWord or PDF format and must be received by Dec. 15. The winner is honored at the RUSA Awards Ceremony on the Monday of the
ALA Annual Conference, next scheduled for June 24-29, 2010 in Washington, D.C.

The Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association, represents librarians and library staff in the fields of reference, specialized reference, collection development, readers advisory and resource sharing. RUSA is the foremost organization of reference and information professionals who make the connections between people and the information sources, services, and collection materials they need. Learn more about the association at