Nominations open for John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award

Contact: Delin R. Guerra

Contact: Delin Guerra

ALA International Relations Office



For immediate Release

October 27, 2009

The American Library Association (ALA) is accepting nominations for the 2010 John Ames Humphry/ OCLC/Forest Press Award for International Librarianship. The award is given to a librarian or person who has made significant contributions to international librarianship. It consists of a prize of $1,000 and a certificate presented at the ALA Annual Conference. The deadline for nominations is Jan. 1, 2010.

The award recognizes John Humphry, an executive director of Forest Press and publisher of the Dewey Decimal Classification who made a notable contribution by internationalizing the English language editions of Dewey and ensuring that translations were adapted to meet the needs of other cultures and countries.

All nominations should include, as appropriate, personal history or curriculum vitae, with emphasis on achievements related to international librarianship; bibliography, critical reviews, articles, etc.; and letters seconding the nomination or other letters of commendation or appreciation. For more information on the John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award, please visit: Nominations should be sent to: International Relations Office, American Library Association, 50 East Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611. Email: