Seven AASL members on NBPTS committee

Contact: Melissa Jacobsen

AASL Communications Specialist

(312) 280-4381


For Immediate Release

November 17, 2009

CHICAGO – The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) has brought together leaders in education from across the country to comprise the NBPTS
Library Media Standards Committee. Of the 12-person committee, seven are members of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), three of whom serve on the AASL Board of Directors.

AASL members Kathy Carroll; Buffy Edwards; Nancy Everhart, AASL president-elect; Carl Harvey, AASL member-at-large; Gregory Lunn; Ann M. Martin, AASL immediate past president; and Delia Neuman were chosen to assure the National Board's
Library Media Standards reflect the best practices and latest research in the Library Media field. These seven AASL members were chosen from a pool of 425 applicants.

According to Joan Auchter, chief program officer of NBPTS, the work of this committee "will serve as the foundation for the assessment in the National Board certification process in Library Media." Today, there are more than 2,100 teachers nationwide who have achieved National Board Certification in Library Media.

NBPTS is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization. NBPTS advances the quality of teaching and learning by developing professional standards for accomplished teaching; creating and administering National Board Certification, a voluntary system to certify teachers who meet those standards; and integrating certified teachers into educational reform efforts.

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), promotes the improvement and extension of library media services in elementary and secondary schools as a means of strengthening the total education program. Its mission is to advocate excellence, facilitate change and develop leaders in the school library media field.