ASCLA award recognizes library service to blind and physically handicapped

Contact: Liz Markel

Marketing Specialist, RUSA/ASCLA

(312) 280-4398


For Immediate Release,

November 10, 2009

CHICAGO—The Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies seeks nominees for its annual Francis Joseph Campbell Award, which recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped.

The award, which consists of a citation and a medal, is named for Sir Francis Joseph Campbell, the co-founder of the Royal National College for the Blind (United Kingdom). In the spirit of Campbell’s contributions to education for the blind and visually impaired, award winners are selected for their notable and important contributions to advancing the quality and availability of library services for the blind and physically handicapped communities. Contributions may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions or technical services; or any other activity of recognized importance.

In 2009, Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood won the Campbell award for his outstanding efforts as a champion and advocate for the funding and support of the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLSBPH) in its transition from analog to digital talking book technology. His background as an educator has contributed to his strong endorsement of full funding for this transition, and he was cited in particular for his diligent advocacy in this area, which underscores the ideal that all may read and ensures equal library access and services for all Americans with print disabilities.

Those interested in submitting a nomination should download the nomination form and submit it to Jill Lewis, award committee co-chair per the instructions on the form. The deadline for all submissions is Dec. 15, 2010. The winner will be announced in the spring of 2010, with the award to be presented at the ALA Annual Conference, June 24-29, 2010 in Washington, D.C.

ASCLA, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is a diverse organization of librarians and support staff who work in academic and public libraries, state agencies, specialized libraries and multi-type cooperatives, as well as those who are self-employed. Not an ASCLA member, but interested in discounted registration rates on conference, ASCLA preconferences and other ASCLA events? Join, renew or add ASCLA to your ALA membership at

CHICAGO - Join your colleagues for “And Now for Something Completely Different: Our Future From Outside the Box,” an exciting and timely symposium from the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) on Friday, Jan. 15, just before the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Boston. Registration is now open, so sign up while space is available.

Cutting-edge thinkers will prepare short opinion pieces on future trends, issues and developments that are likely to have an impact on research, instruction and scholarly communication. These essays will serve as the foundation for panel discussions among many of these thinkers, selected respondents and attendees on emerging roles for libraries and librarians, particularly collections and technical services librarians. The essays will be posted to the ALCTS web site at This symposium will build upon the themes developed in the Thursday ALCTS Symposium, “Living Digital.”

Invited Essayists and Speakers (to date):

Peter Brantley is currently the director of the Internet Archive and the author of the Shimenawa He is the former executive director of the Digital Library Federation. He has served as the director of technology at the California Digital Library, New York University, UC Berkeley, and UCSF.

Meredith Farkas, head of instructional initiatives at Norwich University, writer, teacher and self-described tech geek, author of “Social Software in Libraries.” She is also the author of the Information Wants to Be Free blog.

Susan Gibbons, vice provost and Andrew H. and Janet Dayton Neilly Dean of River Campus Libraries at the University of Rochester and sponsor of the Extensible Catalog (XC) project.

Daniel Greenstein is currently vice provost for academic planning, programs, and coordination in the University of California's Office of the President. Prior to this, Greenstein was university librarian for the California Digital Library (CDL). Before joining the CDL Greenstein was director of the Digital Library Federation.

Joseph Janes, associate dean, Information School, University of Washington is the author of the American Libraries column, The Internet Librarian and was the founding director of the Internet Public Library. (attendee)

Thomas Leonard, Kenneth and Dorothy Hill University Librarian and a professor in the Graduate School of Journalism at the University of California, Berkeley.

Stephen Rhind-Tutt is president of Alexander Street Press, publisher of scholarly digital collections in the humanities and social sciences. Mr. Rhind-Tutt has been responsible for the development, sales, and management of more than 300 electronic products, including SilverPlatter's range of medical databases and the Gale Group's Infotrac line.

David Weinberger, fellow at Harvard University’s Berkman Center for Internet & Society and author of “The Cluetrain Manifesto” and “Everything is Miscellaneous.” (attendee)

Select ALA Event Code: ALC2 to register for this event.

“Living Digital: The Future of Information and the Role of the Library"

Select ALA Event Code: ALC1

Select ALA Event Code: ALC3 to attend both events at a special price.

Registration information:

Advance Registration for each one day symposium:

ALCTS member: $219.00; ALA member $269; Non-Member $319; Student/retired member $99

Special two day registration price (Event Code: ALC3):

ALCTS member $349; ALA member $399; Non-Member $419; Student/retired member $198

To register, visit the ALA Midwinter Registration Web page and complete the meeting registration form. Follow the instructions to register online, by mail, or by fax.

Note: You do not need to register for the entire Midwinter Meeting to attend this symposium.

Visit the ALCTS website for more Midwinter 2010

For questions or comments, contact Julie Reese in the ALCTS office at