ALSC announces 2009 election results, 2011 Newbery, Caldecott and Sibert Award chairs

Contact: Laura Schulte-Cooper

ALSC Program Officer



For Immediate Release,

May 12, 2009

CHICAGO – Julie Corsaro, children’s literature consultant from Chapel Hill, N.C., has been elected vice-president/president-elect of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).Â

“I am honored and eager to serve ALSC as its next vice-president/president-elect,” Corsaro said. “In these tough economic times, it is more important than ever for ALSC to develop and support strong initiatives and resources that will aid librarians in serving young people.”

Corsaro received a master’s in library science from the University of Chicago in 1985 and has been a member of ALSC for 23 years, serving on numerous committees. Most recently she has held the position of priority group consultant VI (book and media awards). She has also served on the Arbuthnot, Batchelder, Caldecott, Distinguished Service, International Relations, Newbery and Sibert Committees.Â

Corsaro currently edits
NoveList School News, a newsletter for all who work with children, and helped develop the juvenile nonfiction collection for NoveList K-8 Plus. She also has reviewed for
Booklist, Kirkus and
School Library Journal, and served on advisory boards, including the boards for
Book Links and
National Geographic World.

The three members elected to serve on the ALSC Board of Directors include Cecilia P. McGowan, King County Library System, Issaquah, Wash.; Jennifer K. Ralston, Harford County Public Library, Belcamp, Md.; and Ellen M. Riordan, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Md.Â

Tali Balas, Ethical Culture Fieldston School, New York, has been elected fiscal officer and Rhonda K. Puntney, Lakeshores Library System, Waterford, Wis., has been elected to the position of ALSC division councilor. These two positions also include membership on the ALSC Board of Directors and the ALSC Executive Committee.Â

The newly elected vice-president and board members will be seated to the ALSC Board of Directors in July 2009, at the close of the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.

Individuals elected to serve on the 2011 Newbery, Caldecott and Sibert Award Committees are:

2011 Newbery: Madeline J. Bryant, Los Angeles (Calif.) Public Library; Louise A. Capizzo, Falmouth (Maine) Memorial Library; Dan Darigan, West Chester University of Pennsylvania; Jana Rose Fine, Tuscaloosa (Ala.) Public Library; Jean Gaffney, Dayton (Ohio) Metro Library; Kathy Shepler, Aurora Elementary School, Oakland, Calif.; Nancy Jo Snyder, Charlotte (N.C.) Public Library; and Bina Williams, Bridgeport (Conn.) Public Library.

2011 Caldecott: Carolyn Angus, George C. Stone Center for Children's Books, Claremont (Calif.) Graduate University; Ruth Anne Champion, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Md.; Karen Nelson Hoyle, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis; Megan Lambert, Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art, Amherst, Mass.; Debra Nelson, Prince George's County Memorial Library, Largo, Md.; Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, Esther Bone Memorial Library, Rio Rancho, N.M.; Gail D. Nordstrom, Stillwater (Minn.) Public Library; and Robin L. Smith, Ensworth School, Nashville, Tenn.

2011 Sibert: Ty Burns, Clear Creek Independent School District, League City, Texas; Ernie Cox, St. Timothy's School, Raleigh, N.C.; Carol Doll, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.; Randall Enos, Ramapo Catskill Library System, Middletown, N.Y.; and Sharon Rawlins, New Jersey State Library, Trenton.

Pat Scales, current ALSC President, has appointed the following award committee chairs: Cynthia K. Richey, Mount Lebanon (Pa.) Public Library, 2011 Newbery Award Committee chair; Judy Zuckerman, Brooklyn (N.Y.) Public Library, 2011 Caldecott Award Committee chair; and Barbara Brand, Johnson County Library, Shawnee Mission, Kan., 2011 Sibert Award Committee chair. Thom Barthelmess, current ALSC vice-president/president-elect, will appoint the remaining members to these three committees as well as the members of ALSC’s other prestigious award committees this fall.

ALSC is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,300 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit their Web site at