Krug awarded posthumous honorary membership

Contact: JoAnne Kempf

Office of ALA Governance


For Immediate Release

June 1, 2009

In a rare vote outside of Midwinter and Annual Conference, the ALA Council voted last month to award posthumous honorary membership to Judith F. Krug for her work in the field of intellectual freedom. Krug was the director of the Office for Intellectual Freedom and executive director of the Freedom to Read Foundation for more than 40 years. She died on April 11 after a long illness.

Honorary membership, ALA's highest honor, is conferred in recognition of outstanding contributions of lasting importance to libraries and librarianship. The award will be presented on Saturday, July 11, during the Opening General Session at the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.