ALA’s Youth Media Awards Jan. 26 – Get it on your calendar!

Contact: Jennifer Petersen

ALA Media Relations



For Immediate Release

January 6, 2009

ALA’s Youth Media Awards Jan. 26 – Get it on your calendar!

Join thousands as the
ALA unveils the best of the best in children’s and young adult literature and media at the 2009
Youth Media Awards presentation during the
ALA Midwinter Meeting (Jan. 23 – 28) in Denver.

The award announcements will take place at 7:45 a.m. MST (doors open at 7:30 a.m.) on Jan. 26 in the Four Seasons Ballroom at the
Colorado Convention Center.

Awards announced during the Youth Media Awards presentation include:

  • Alex Awards for the best adult books that appeal to teen audience
  • Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children's video
  • Coretta Scott King Book Awards honors African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults that demonstrate sensitivity to "the African American experience via literature and illustration."
  • John Newbery Medal honors the author of the year's most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.
  • Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author's lifetime contribution in writing for young adults as well as a specific body of his or her work.
  • May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award recognizes an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children's literature, who then presents a paper, considered to be a significant contribution to the field of children's literature, at a winning host site.
  • Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award is presented to an American publisher for the most outstanding book originally published in a country other than the United States in a language other than English and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.
  • Odyssey Award is presented to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults available in English in the United States.
  • Pura Belpré Award recognizes Latino/Latina writers and illustrators whose work best portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
  • Randolph Caldecott Medal honors the illustrator of the year's most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • Robert F. Sibert Medal honors an author, illustrator and/or photographer of the most distinguished informational book published for children.
  • Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is presented annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished book for beginning readers published in English in the United States.
  • William C. Morris Award begins in 2009, honoring a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Generally held in January, the ALA Midwinter Meeting draws more than 10,000 leaders in the library and information industry for some 2,500 meetings and events. About 450 exhibits feature the latest in books, videos, computers and other materials and resources available to millions of library users.