ALA’s Youth Media Awards Jan. 18 – Get it on your calendar!


Jennifer Petersen

ALA Media Relations



For Immediate Release

December 23, 2009

CHICAGO – Join thousands as the ALA unveils the best of the best in children’s and young adult literature and media at the 2010 Youth Media Awards presentation during the ALA Midwinter Meeting (Jan. 15 – 19) in Boston.

The award announcements will take place at 7:45 a.m. EST (doors open at 7:30 a.m.) on Jan. 18 in the Grand Ballroom at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center.

Awards announced during the Youth Media Awards presentation include:

  • Alex Awards for the best adult books that appeal to teen audience
  • Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children's video
  • Coretta Scott King Book Awards honors African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults that demonstrate sensitivity to "the African American experience via literature and illustration."
  • Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement honors an African American author, illustrator or author/illustrator for a body of his or her published books for children and/or young adults who has made a significant and lasting literary contribution.
  • John Newbery Medal honors the author of the year's most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author's lifetime contribution in writing for young adults as well as a specific body of his or her work.
  • May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award recognizes an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children's literature, who then presents a paper, considered to be a significant contribution to the field of children's literature, at a winning host site.
  • Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award is presented to an American publisher for the most outstanding book originally published in a country other than the United States in a language other than English and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.
  • Odyssey Award is presented to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults available in English in the United States.
  • Pura Belpré Award recognizes Latino/Latina writers and illustrators whose work best portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
  • Randolph Caldecott Medal honors the illustrator of the year's most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • Robert F. Sibert Medal honors an author, illustrator and/or photographer of the most distinguished informational book published for children.
  • Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is presented annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished book for beginning readers published in English in the United States.
  • William C. Morris Award begins in 2009, honoring a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.
  • YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct 31 publishing year.

Generally held in January, the ALA Midwinter Meeting draws more than 10,000 leaders in the library and information industry for some 2,500 meetings and events. About 450 exhibits feature the latest in books, videos, computers and other materials and resources available to millions of library users.