ALSC announces Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarship winners

Contact: Linda Mays

Program Officer, ALSC



For Immediate Release

August 18, 2009

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has announced the 2009 recipients of the Frederic G. Melcher and Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarships.

The scholarships are awarded annually to students who plan to enter ALA-accredited programs, obtain a master’s degree in library science and specialize in library service to children.

This year’s Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship winners are:

  • Jessica Ammons, Nicholasville, Ky.: A teacher, Ammons will study to become an elementary school media specialist. She will attend Syracuse University.
  • Megan Bannen, Overland Park, Kan.: A teacher, Bannen plans to become a librarian who uses all of her education while working in an elementary school library. She will attend Emporia State University.
  • Kristin Edstrom, Seattle, Wash.: Working in a public library, Edstrom plans to work with pre-schoolers and young children. She will attend Texas Woman’s University.
  • Jennifer Raymond, Kennebunkport, Maine: Already the director of a child daycare facility, Raymond plans to incorporate her education as a children’s librarian into her work in the center. She will attend Simmons College.

Each Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship recipient will receive $7,000. The award is made possible through a generous contribution from Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc., of Jacksonville, Ill.

This year’s Melcher Scholarship winners are:

  • Heidi Knuth, Antioch, Ill.: Currently working in a public library while attending school, Knuth will continue to focus on working with school-age boys. She attends Dominican University.
  • Mary Bridget Maddan, Hilton Head Island, S. C.: Currently working in an elementary school library and attending school, Madden plans to become a school media specialist. She attends University of South Carolina.

Both Knuth and Maddan will receive $6,000 from ALSC, made possible by contributions received in memory of Frederic G. Melcher.

Members of the scholarship committee were very impressed with the caliber of applicants. “Each and every recipient is quite excited to receive the scholarship and to be embarking on a career in children’s librarianship,” said committee Chair Maralita Freeny.

In addition to Freeny, of the District of Columbia Public Library, Washington, D.C., committee members are: Julie Dietzel-Glair, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Md.; Theresa Schroeder of the Anoka County Library , Blaine, Minn., Ellen Spring of Rockland District Middle School, Rockland, Maine; and Mark Wolfe, Free Library of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pa. Applications for the 2010 scholarships will be available on the ALA Web site beginning in October 2009, at , or send an e-mail to