Kathleen T. Horning named Scholastic Library Publishing Award winner

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer, ALA Governance


cmalden@ala.org Â


For Immediate Release

April 7, 2009

CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) has named Kathleen T. Horning the recipient of the 2009 Scholastic Library Publishing Award. The honor, which will be presented during the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, Â is bestowed on a librarian whose extraordinary contributions to promoting access to books and encouraging a love of reading for lifelong learning exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession. Horning will receive a citation and $1,000 prize, donated by Scholastic Library Publishing.

Horning is an outstanding leader in the field of librarianship and children's and young adult literature. Her imaginative vision, acute intellect and stellar leadership benefit the librarians and teachers she works with and, through them, the children they serve. Horning holds a bachelor's degree in linguistics and anthropology and a master's of library science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

She  currently serves as the director of the Cooperative Children's Book Center of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she received the 2006 Centennial Alumna Award from the School of Library and Information Studies. Her numerous accomplishments include:

  • Authoring “From Cover to Cover: Evaluating and Reviewing Children's Books,” which is recognized as a unique and invaluable tool for librarians, teachers and others.
  • Â Publishing the annual
    CCBC Choices bibliography, a fully annotated best-of-the year list that is used by many libraries as a core selection and evaluation tool.

    Serving on and chairing a variety of committees with the American Library Association and Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC) including the John Newbery and Mildred L. Batchelder award committees, and serving as ALSC president.
  • Serving on and chairing a variety of committees with the United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY), including the Hans Christian Andersen award committee, and serving as USBBY president.
  • Writing numerous articles and maintaining a blog (
    Worth the Trip) in support of diversity in literature for youth, intellectual freedom for youth and promoting and understanding excellence in literature for young readers.
  • Coauthoring “Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults” and being recognized as a national expert on multicultural literature, among other topics.
  • Overseeing the annual Charlotte Zolotow lecture and award for the CCBC.
  • Writing extensively on children's and young adult literature.

“Scholastic Corporation (NASDAQ: SCHL) is the world's largest publisher and distributor of children's books,” said chair Lynn Moses, “and a leader in educational technology. Scholastic Library Publishing, a division of Scholastic, creates a multitude of products, both in print and online, for the school and public library market under the imprints of Grolier, Children's Press, Franklin Watts and Grolier Online.” The committee is very pleased to present this prestigious award to Kathleen T. Horning, whose contributions to young readers and to their librarians is so noteworthy.”

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2010 Scholastic Library Publishing Award is Dec. 1. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site:


Members of the 2009 Scholastic Library Publishing Award Jury are: Lynn M. Moses (Chair), Pennsylvania Department of Education, Harrisburg, Pa.; Janet S. Fore, Saint Mary’s College
, Notre Dame, Ind.; Anne Elizabeth Heidemann, Canton Public Library, Canton, Mich.; Tracey Pearson, Methodist University, Fayetteville, N.C.; and Dr. Julie B. Todaro, Austin Community College, Austin, Texas.