ALA offers Recognition Awards and Grants

Contact: Cheryl Malden

ALA Governance Office

(312) 280-3247


For Immediate Release

October 7, 2008

CHICAGO – Nominate yourself, colleagues or your library for the 2009 American Library Association (ALA) Recognition Awards and Grants.

Unless otherwise noted, the deadline for awards is December 1.

The following lists the major ALA awards with the Web sites for application guidelines:

  • ALA Information Today Library of the Future Award honors a library, library consortium, group of librarians or support organization for innovative planning for, applications of or development of patron training programs about information technology in a library setting. The award includes $1,500 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Information Today, Inc.

  • Marshall Cavendish Excellence in Library Programming Award is given to a school or public library that demonstrates excellence in library programming by providing programs that have community impact and respond to community needs. Advocacy, partnerships and creative of use of resources, regardless of the size of the library, will be taken into consideration. The award includes $2,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by the Marshall Cavendish Corporation.

  • Melvil Dewey Medal honors an individual or group for a recent creative professional achievement in library management, training, cataloging and classification or the tools and techniques of librarianship. The award includes $2,000, Dewey Medal and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated OCLC/Forest Press, Inc.

  • EBSCO ALA Conference Sponsorship provides 10 $1,000 awards to help librarians attend ALA’s Annual Conference. To apply for this award, applicants must submit an essay of no more than 250 words addressing, “How will attending this ALA Conference contribute to your professional development?” The award is donated by EBSCO Subscription Services.

  • Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award recognizes and honors a librarian for investing time and talent to make a positive change in the profession of librarianship. The award includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund. The biannual award application deadline is Dec. 1, 2009.

  • Gale Cengage Learning Financial Development Award is given to a library organization that exhibited meritorious achievement in carrying out a library financial development project to secure new funding resources for a public or academic library. The award includes $2,500 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Gale Cengage, Inc.

  • Greenwood Publishing Group Award for the Best Book in Library Literature - An annual award to honor the best book published in library literature. This book may help library professionals in the areas of management principles and practice, understanding and application of new techniques, or furthering the education of librarians or other information specialists. The award includes $5,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Greenwood Publishing Group.

  • Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship honors an individual for contributing significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching and/or writing. The award includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Ken Haycock, PhD.

  • Paul Howard Award for Courage honors a librarian, library board, library group or individual for exhibiting unusual courage benefiting library programs or services. The award, given every two years, includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Paul Howard. The deadline application for the biennial award deadline is Dec. 1, 2008.

  • Joseph W. Lippincott Award is given to a librarian for distinguished service to the profession. To qualify, the librarian must display outstanding participation in professional library activities, notable published professional writing or other significant activities on behalf of the profession. The award includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Joseph W. Lippincott, III.

  • Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that encourages artistic expression of the disability experience for young children, middle school and teens. One award will be given in each category. The book must portray some aspect of living with a disability or that of a friend or family member, whether the disability is physical, mental or emotional. Three recipients will each receive $5,000 and a plaque. The donor is Katherine Schneider, Ph.D.

  • Scholastic Library Publishing Award (formerly Grolier) honors a librarian whose “unusual contribution” to the stimulation and guidance of children’s and young adult reading exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession. The award includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Scholastic Library Publishing.

  • Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children honors an individual who has shown exceptional understanding and support of library service to children while having general management/supervisory/ administrative responsibility that has included public library service to children in its scope. The recipient will receive a plaque and recognition artifact. The donor is Peggy Sullivan.

  • World Book-ALA /Information Literacy Goal Award -. Two annual awards consisting of $5,000 and a gold-framed citation of achievement to a public and school library. The World Book/ALA Information Literacy Goal Award seeks to promote exemplary information literacy programs in public and school libraries. The annual awards are designed to encourage and support innovative and effective information literacy programs in today’s school and public libraries donated by World Book, Inc.

For general information about these and other ALA awards, visit