Dec. 15 Deadline for RUSA Awards Approaching

Contact: Liz Markel

Marketing Specialist



November 25, 2008

For Immediate Release

CHICAGO--You can thank your colleagues for their outstanding contributions to the library profession this year by nominating them for an award offered by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA).

The association, representing information service professionals in reference, collection development, readers advisory, genealogy, resource sharing and many other related fields, is accepting nominations for the following 2009 awards until Monday, Dec. 15:

Awards for Individuals and Groups for Professional Achievement

Zora Neale Hurston Award

ABC-CLIO Online History Award

Virginia Boucher/OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award

Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award

Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services

John Sessions Memorial Award

Louis Shores/Greenwood Publishing Group Award

Reference Services Press Award

Genealogical Publishing Company Award

Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award

Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship

BRASS Dun and Bradstreet Outstanding Service to Minority Communities Award

BRASS Dun and Bradstreet Public Librarian Support Award

Travel Grants to ALA Annual Conference

BRASS Gale Cengage Learning Student Travel Award

STARS Atlas Systems Mentoring Award

Awards for Literary Excellence

The Sophie Brody Award

Dartmouth Medal

More information about these awards, including nominating instructions, can be found at the
RUSA Awards webpage. Questions about these awards should be directed to the
awards committee chairperson, or to the
RUSA headquarters staff.

Reference and User Services Association, a division of the
American Library Association, is the foremost organization of reference and information professionals who make the connections between people and the information sources, services, and collection materials they need.