ASCLA award nominations due Dec. 15

Contact: Liz Markel

Marketing Specialist



November 24, 2008

For Immediate Release

CHICAGO—Don’t miss out on an opportunity to recognize a colleague or project for contributions to the library professions represented by the Association for Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA).

ASCLA’s five awards encompass three key areas: service to special populations, contribution to state library and multi-type library systems and service to the division. The nomination deadline for all awards is Dec. 15.

Specifically, the awards recognize the following contributions:

ASCLA/KLAS/NOD Award, sponsored by ASCLA, the National Organization on Disability and Keystone Systems, recognizes an innovative and well-organized project that successfully developed or expanded services for people with disabilities.

Francis Joseph Campbell Award recognizes a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped.

Exceptional Service Award recognizes exceptional service to patients in a medical facility, persons who are homebound, inmates, older adults and adults with a physical or mental disability, who live in group homes or residences. It also recognizes professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity and significant research.

Leadership and Professional Achievement Award is presented to one or more ASCLA members exemplifying leadership and achievement in the following areas: consulting, multi-type library cooperation, networking, statewide service and programs and state library development.

Cathleen Bourdon Service Award is presented to an ASCLA personal member for exceptional service and sustained leadership to the division. This includes participation in activities that have enhanced the stature, reputation and overall strength of ASCLA, and have also cultivated the division’s relationship with other appropriate organizations, institutions or governmental agencies.

More information about these awards, including nomination instructions, can be found at the
ASCLA Awards webpage. Questions about these awards should be directed to
Liz Markel, ASCLA marketing specialist.

ASCLA, a division of the
American Library Association, is devoted to the development of specialized and cooperative library activities, and its members represent state library agencies, specialized library agencies, multi-type library cooperatives and librarians who work outside of traditional library settings.