Contact Lois Ann Gregory Wood

ALA Governance

(312) 280-3204


For Immediate Release

May 27, 2008

ALA 2009 Nominating Committee seeks candidates for 2009 election

CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) 2009 Nominating Committee is soliciting nominees to run on the 2009 spring ballot for the offices of ALA President-elect and Councilor-at-large.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for President-elect and no fewer than 50 candidates for the 33 at-large Council seats to be filled in the 2009 spring election.

The President-elect will serve a three-year term: as President-elect in 2009-2010, as President in 2010-2011 and as Immediate Past President in 2011-2012.

The Councilors-at-large will serve three-year terms, beginning after the 2009 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2012 Annual Conference.

The ALA President and Councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA]. Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions regarding lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

ALA members who wish to make nominations should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; fax; and e-mail address. All potential nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form available at . The database will be available June 2, 2008. Nominations and forms must be received no later than Sept. 1, 2008. Self-nominations are encouraged.

Nominations also may be sent to any member of the 2009 Nominating Committee. Committee members are: Susan S. DiMattia, chair, consultant, DiMattia Associates, Stamford, Conn.,; Rose T. Dawson, acting director, Alexandria (Va.) Library,; Timothy P. Grimes, manager, Community Relations and Marketing, Ann Arbor (Mich.) District Library,; Susan Hildreth, state librarian, California State Library, Sacramento, Calif.,; Corinne M. Hill, collection development manager, Denton (Texas) Public Library;; Pamela Spencer Holley, writer, consultant, Hallwood, Va.,; Jo Ellen Priest Misakian, interim dean/School of Education, Fresno Pacific University, Fresno, Cailf.,; Daniel O. O'Connor, professor, Rutgers University School of Communication Information & Library Studies, New Brunswick, N.J.; ; and Thomas C. Wilson, associate dean, Library Technology, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa,

To encourage diversity and leadership development, the Committee will refrain from nominating any current councilors for election to another term.

However, the Committee encourages all current councilors who wish to continue their service to the ALA to file as petition candidates. Petitions will be available from Lois Ann Gregory-Wood, Council Secretariat, ALA, 50 E. Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, e-mail:, or during the 2008 Annual Conference or 2009 Midwinter Meeting. Petitions require 25 signatures for names to be included on the 2009 ballot.