Patricia Tarin receives 2008 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

(312) 280-3247

For Immediate Release,

March 17, 2008

Patricia Tarin receives 2008 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

CHICAGO - Patricia Tarin, former director of Knowledge River in the School of Information Resources and Library Science at the University of Arizona, is the 2008 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award. This award is given biennially to an individual for making positive changes in the profession of librarianship and consists of a 24K gold-framed citation and $1,000 contributed by the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund of the American Library Association.

“The jury for the 2008 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award is pleased to honor Patricia Tarin for a career noted by risk taking, accepting challenges and, through her efforts with programs such as Knowledge River, providing positive long-term changes to librarianship and the lives of those who work in, and use, libraries,” said John A. Moorman, Director, Williamsburg Regional Library (Va.).

Throughout her career Tarin has incorporated the values of culture and ethnic diversity into many library settings. Working to develop “Guidelines for Library Service to the Spanish-Speaking” in 1978, designing the ALA Spectrum Program and developing Knowledge River, which recruits Hispanics and American Indians to librarianship, are only a few examples of this life-long commitment to promoting these values in libraries and librarianship.

“The Futas jury was impressed by the depth of appreciation and respect shown by colleagues who wrote in support of her nomination for this award,” Moorman said. “Over the past four decades Ms. Tarin has been a mentor to many librarians from under-represented backgrounds and has diligently worked to see that these librarians have the tools and experiences to succeed in their professional endeavors. As one colleague indicated in her nomination remarks, 'Ms. Tarin is the embodiment of all that Elizabeth Futas stood for-passion for change to make librarianship a stronger, more inclusive field undergirded by keen intellect and devotion.'”

Members of the 2008 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award Jury are: John A. Moorman, Williamsburg Regional Library , Va.; Nancy H. Allen, Penrose Library, University of Denver; Geraldine G. Harris, Calcasieu Parish Public Library, La.; Jane Light, San Jose Public Library , Calif.; and Jean E. McLaughlin, University- Albany-SUNY.

The Futas Award will be presented on Tuesday, July 1, at the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2009 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award is Dec. 1. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site: