LITA announces scholarship winners for 2008

Contact: Valerie Edmonds-Merritt
(312) 280-4269

For Immediate Release
June 17, 2008

The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the

American Library Association, has announced the winners of annual scholarships it sponsors jointly with three other organizations:, LSSI and OCLC, Inc. The scholarships are for master’s level study, with an emphasis on library technology and/or automation, at a library school accredited by the American Library Association.

This year’s winner of the LITA/Christian Larew Memorial Scholarship ($3,000)

sponsored by, is Joanna DiPasquale, an active student at <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Rutgers University, School of Communication, Information and Library Studies.

The LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship ($2,500) winner is Tiffany Chao, who will pursue her studies at the University of Michigan, School of Information.

Israel Yanez is the winner of the LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship ($3,000). He will pursue his studies at San Jose State University, School of Library and Information Science.

Criteria for the scholarships include previous academic excellence, evidence of

leadership potential and a commitment to a career in library automation and information technology. Two of the scholarships, the LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship and LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship, also require U.S Citizenship and membership in one of four minority groups: American Indian or Alaskan Native, Asian or Pacific Islander, African-American, or Hispanic.

The Scholarship winners will be honored at the LITA Awards Ceremony, which will be held from 3-4 p.m. Sunday, June 29 in the Pacific Ballroom A at the Hilton Anaheim Hotel, Anaheim, Calif.