Avery, Doty win 2008 Stonewall Book awards

Contacts: Macey Morales/Jennifer Petersen

ALA Media Relations



For Immediate Release,

January 14, 2008

Avery, Doty win 2008 Stonewall Book awards

PHILADELPHIA - The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 Stonewall Book Awards. Ellis Avery, author of “The Tea House Fire,” published by The Penguin Group, is the winner of the Barbara Gittings Book Award in Literature, and Mark Doty, author of “Dog Years: A Memoir,” pubished by HarperCollins Publishers, is the winner of the Israel Fishman Book Award for Nonfiction.

The announcement was made January 14, at the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia This year marks the 37th anniversary of the Stonewall Book Awards. The awards will be presented to the winners at the 2008 ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif. on June 30.

Set against the background during the opening of Japan to the West, “The Tea House Fire” draws the reader into the world of Aurelia Bernard, an American orphan who finds refuge in the household of a Japanese tea master. Avery's complex historical novel weaves the transformation of Japanese culture and tradition with Aurelia's coming of age and emerging sexuality.

“Dog Year's: A Memoir” is, on its surface, the story of the day-to-day life of Doty, his partner and their two dogs. In spare and unsentimental prose, Doty reflects on love and loss and takes the reader through his process of grieving for his human and canine companions.

The 2008 Stonewall honor books in literature are:

  • “Bow Grip” written by Ivan E. Coyote and published by Arsenal Pulp Press
  • “Dark Reflections” written by Samuel R. Delany and published by Avalon publishing Group, Incorporated
  • “The IHOP Papers” written by Ali Liebegott and published by Avalon Publishing Group, Inc.
  • “The Indian Clerk, a Novel” written by David Leavitt and published by Bloomsbury US
  • The 2008 Stonewall honor books in non-fiction are:
  • “Grand Surprise: The Journals of Leo Lerman” written by Leo Lerman and Stephen Pascal and published by Knopf Publishing Group
  • “Mississippi Sissy” written by Kevin Sessums and published by St. Martins Press
  • “Transparent: Love, Family, and Living the T with Transgender Teenagers” written by Cris Beam and published by Harcourt * “Two Lives: Gertrude and Alice” written by Janet Malcolm and published by Yale University Press

Members of the 2008 ALA Stonewall Book Award Committee are: Richard DiRusso (chair), Tucson-Pima Public Library, Ariz.; Robin Imhof (immediate past chair), Elizabeth Briggs (vice, chair, elect), East Carolina University, Greenville, N.C.; James Carmichael, University of North Carolina, Greensboro, N.C.; Beth Gallego, Los Angeles Public Library; James Simonis, librarian emeritus, LeMoyne College, Syracuse, N.Y.; Arla Jones, Lawrence High School, Lawrence, Kan.; Eric Johnson, Southeastern Louisiana University; Dale McNeil, Queens Library, Queens, N.Y; and Andy Johnson, Palm Springs, Calif.

The Stonewall Award, formerly called the ALA Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered (GLBT) Book Award, was established in 1971 and is the most enduring and oldest award of its kind. Each year the GLBTRT bestows two book awards: one for literature and one for non-fiction to English-language books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience.

For additional information on the Stonewall Book Awards, please visit: