ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries winners announced

Contact: Megan Griffin

ACRL Program Coordinator

(312) 280-2514

For Immediate Release,

January 29, 2008

ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries winners announced

CHICAGO - The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2008 Excellence in Academic Libraries Award. Sponsored by ACRL and Blackwell's Book Services, the award recognizes the staff of a college, university and community college library for programs that deliver exemplary services and resources to further the educational mission of the institution.

"Receiving an Excellence in Academic Libraries Award is a national tribute to a library and its staff for the outstanding services, programs and leadership they provide to their students, administrators, faculty and community," said Mary Ellen K. Davis, ACRL executive director.

This year's recipients are the Shatford Library at Pasadena City College, Pasadena, Calif.; the Laurence McKinley Gould Library at Carleton College, Northfield, Minn.; and the McMaster University Libraries, Hamilton, Ontario.

The Shatford Library at Pasadena City College, winner of the community college category, was recognized for continually working to enhance students' experiences at the library.

"Innovative is the best word to describe why Shatford Library won this award. It excels in its information competency work and it provides new technologies to advance the academic success of Pasadena Community College students," said Camila Alire, chair of the 2008 Excellence in Academic Libraries Selection Committee and Dean Emerita, University of New Mexico & Colorado State University.

"Pasadena City College's Shatford Library is honored to have been chosen for the 2008 Excellence in Academic Libraries Award," said Mary Ann Laun, assistant dean at Shatford Library. "This award celebrates the collaborative work of our library faculty and staff in the delivery of quality instructional programs, resources and services to the College's 30,000 students and to our community. It also recognizes the commitment to planning and evaluation of services that directly support the college's motto, "Student Success, Our Top Priority."

The Laurence McKinley Gould Library at Carleton College, winner of the college category, impressed the selection committee with its use of technology in the library.

"The Gould Library at Carleton College was recognized for working hard in a team atmosphere in order to provide a welcoming environment for its students and faculty by utilizing technology to enhance space, services, and resources," said Alire.

"To us, this award is all about esprit de corps within the library, and partnerships in the college community and beyond," said Samuel Demas, college librarian at Carleton College. "The Gould library staff works hard to nurture a culture of creative collaboration, and every day it models the teamwork that underlies superb service. It is a thrill for us to receive this validation of our values and of our efforts to serve the Carleton community."

The McMaster University Libraries, winner of the university category, was selected for its focus on user-centered innovations and services.

"McMaster University Libraries exemplifies a successful transformation from a traditional research library to an innovative, user-centered library using technological advances to accomplish its goals," said Alire.

"Receiving this international recognition stands as tribute to the hard work and dedication of the staff here at the McMaster University Libraries," said Jeffrey Trzeciak, university librarian at McMaster University. "Its commitment to excellence and innovation is evident in all it does to advance the mission of the university. By winning this award we can proudly say to our faculty, students and the entire campus community that you have -and deserve -the very best!"

Each winning library will receive $3,000 and a plaque, to be presented at an award ceremony held on each recipient's campus. The winners also will receive special recognition at the ACRL President's Program during the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference at 1:30 p.m. Monday, June 30, in Anaheim, Calif.

ACRL is a division of the American Library Association, representing 13,000 academic and research librarians and interested individuals. ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic and research librarians. Its initiatives enable the higher education community to understand the role that academic libraries play in the teaching, learning and research environments.